Terrington St John, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Terrington St John, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Terrington St John, Norfolk
Terrington St John.JPG
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Freebridge-Marsh-Land
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Wisbech PLU
Registration District Wisbeach
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538; For more records see Terrington St Clement
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lynn
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

TERRTNGTON (St. John), a parish, in the union of Wisbech, hundred of Freebridge-Marshland, W. division of Norfolk, 6 miles (W. S. W.) from Lynn. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Terrington St John was created as a chapelry to Terrington St Clement, Norfolk later became an Ecclesiastical parish in the diocese of Norwich.

Includes or also known as Marshland Smeeth.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration District:

  • Wisbech

Church records

Terrington St John, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[7]
Terrington St John, Norfolk Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1538-1907
1538-1927
1538-1931
FS ATs 1600-1812 1600-1812 1600-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
JOIN
1706-1812

TIN 1813-1880

This parish's registers do not appear on FamilySearch as no microfilm for the parish is held
A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue identify the following Archdeacon's transcripts:

Content
Film
Baptisms, marriages and burials 1600-1610, 1623-1637, 1671-1812
FHL BRITISH Film
1526744 Item 4

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438858.

Poor Law Unions

Wisbech Poor Law Union

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 314-321. Date accessed: 15 July 2013.
  2. Pat Newby, "Norfolk: Towns and Parishes", GenUKI
  3. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 February 2014.
  7. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 November 2014, at 17:33.
  • This page has been accessed 1,526 times.