Tetbury, GloucestershireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Tetbury, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Tetbury, Gloucestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Longtree
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Tetbury PLU
Registration District Tetbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1631
Bishop's Transcripts: 1578
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stonehouse
Diocese Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

TETBURY (St. Mary), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Longtree,E. division of the county of Gloucester, 20 miles(S. by E.) from Gloucester, and 99 (W. by N.) from London. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Tetbury, Gloucestershire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FHSO = FHSOnline - (£)[3]
IARC = Internet Archive - free[4]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[5]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[6]
Tetbury, Gloucestershire Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1631-1812

FHSO 1800-1837
IARC 1658-1811 (gaps)
JOIN

1631-1812


PALL
1790-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288774.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 314-321. Date accessed: 04 February 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Coverage for the Gloucestershire Marriages database,' FHS Online, accessed 5 May 2014.
  4. 'Extracts from the Tetbury Parish Registers: Burials, 1658-1811,' in Gloucestershire Notes and Queries, Vol. 1 (1881):323-325. Digitised by Internet Archive - free.
  5. 'Gloucestershire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 18 April 2014.
  6. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:37.
  • This page has been accessed 1,812 times.