Tettenhall Regis, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Tettenhall Regis, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Tettenhall Regis, Staffordshire
Tettenhall St micahel and All Angels Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Seisdon; South Seisdon
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Seisdon PLU
Registration District Wolverhampton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1602
Bishop's Transcripts: 1687
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Trysull
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Tettenhall
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Tettenhall Regis is an Ancient Parish in the county of Staffordshire.  Other places in the parish include: Bovenhill, Compton, Pendeford, Wrottesley, Tettenhall Clericorum, Tettenhall Wood, and Pirton with Trescott.

TETTENHALL-REGIS (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Seisdon, partly in the N. and partly in the S. division of the hundred of Seisdon, S. division of the county of Stafford, 1¾ mile (N. W.) from Wolverhampton.  There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

A History of the Parish of Tettenhall, in the County of Stafford (1894) has been digitised by Google Books - free.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Tettenhall Regis St Michael and All Angels Ancient parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS = FamilySearch - free[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[4]
TETTENHALL REGIS PARISH (1598) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1742-1900
1837-1876, 1895-1900

FS 1602-1741, 1800-1813, 1880-1900
1602-1875

NBI

1598-1837

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1602-1968 Mar 1602-1948 Bur 1602-1946
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1687-1859 Mar 1687-1836 Bur 1687-1859

Tettenhall Wood Christ Church was formed in 1868 from this parish

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1868-1988 Mar 1868-1989 Bur no burial ground
Lichfield Record Office no  holdings of Bishop's Transcripts

Tettenhall Wood also had a mission church Castlecroft Good Shepherd

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1955-1976 Mar none  Bur no burial ground

Tettenhall Christ the King was formed as a mission church in this parish from 1939 No records are deposited but are with the incumbent at the church

Many of Staffordshire's Parish Register entries have been transcribed in full by Staffordshire Freereg and can be searched for free.


Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474626.

Poor Law Unions

Seisdon Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 314-321. Date accessed: 06 November 2012.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 11 September 2013.
  3. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (N-Z), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 23 September 2013.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.
  5. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 05:01.
  • This page has been accessed 1,467 times.