Texas County, MissouriEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Missouri
Texas County
Guide to Texas County Missouri genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Texas County, Missouri | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Missouri in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | February 17, 1843 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Houston |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Texas County Courthouse 210 N Grand Avenue; Houston, MO 65483-1226 Phone: 417.967.2112 Texas County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Recorder Deeds has marriage records from 1855 and
land records from 1845; Clerk ciruit Court has divorce
and court recordsc from 1855; Associate Circuit Court
has probate records from 1850[1]
History
Parent County
1843--Texas County was created 17 February 1843 from Shannon and Wright Counties. County seat: Houston. [2] Texas County went by the name of Ashley County from 1843 to 1845.
Boundary Changes
See an interactive map of Texas County border changes at N2Genealogy.
Record Loss
Places/Localities
- The State Historical Society of Missouri has information on historical Missouri place names for all 114 Missouri Counties.
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Census
For tips on accessing Texas County, Missouri census records online, see: Missouri Census.
Church
Court
Land
Local Histories
- Biographies from The History of Texas County, Missouri (1889) published by Goodspeed are available free on the My Genealogy Hound website.
Maps
- Family Maps of Texas County, Missouri (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
- Map of Texas County townships (Histopolis)
- The University of Missouri Digital Library has digital copies of Missouri county plat books (ca. 1930) for all Missouri counties including Texas County. The city of St. Louis is not included in this collection.
- Map of 1904 Texas County with numerous small settlements (My Genealogy Hound)
Military
Newspapers
Probate
Taxation
Vital Records
Births
Marriages
- 1850-1855 - Texas County Marriage Index 1850-1855. Batch M515861 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1855-1882 - Texas County Marriage Index 1855-1882. Batch M515862 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1881-1885 - Texas County Marriage Index 1881-1885. Batch M515863 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Deaths
- Missouri State Archives provides on-line access to Missouri Death Certificates more than 50 yrs old starting in 1910.
- 1883 - Texas County Death Index 1883. Batch B514629 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Texas County, Missouri. Page 406 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f4/Igimissourir.pdf.
| This Missouri-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 7 May 2013, at 02:37.
- This page has been accessed 1,578 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
