Texas State Library and Archives CommissionEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png TexasGotoarrow.png Texas State Library and Archives Commission

Texas State Library and Archives Commission
Building F 1201 Brazos
P.O. Box 12927
Austin, TX 78711
Phone: (512) 463-5460
Fax: (512) 463-5436

Archives and Manuscripts

A major division of the Texas State Library and Archives Commission is the Archives and Manuscripts. The Texas State Archives preserves and documents the heritage and culture of Texas by identifying, collecting, and making available for research the permanently valuable official records of Texas government, as well as other significant historical resources. Maintaining the official history of Texas government, the State Archives includes archival government records dating back to the 18th century, as well as newspapers, journals, books, manuscripts, photographs, historical maps, and other historical resources.

Genealogy Resources

The following is a list of all Genealogy Resources Available at Our Library.

  • Vital Statistics Indexes
  • Index to Confederate Pension Applications
  • Adjutant General Service Records
  • Republic Claims
  • Confederate Indigent Families Lists
  • County Tax Rolls
  • County Records on Microfilm
  • City Directories
  • Telephone Directories
  • Newspapers on Microfilm
  • 1867 Voters' Registration
  • Texas Convict Record Ledgers and Indexes
  • Republic of Texas Passports
  • Government Links

Original manuscripts for Texas under Mexico, as a republic, and as a state, including all counties, vital records, newspapers, books, and maps.[1] Three divisions of the Texas State Library house materials of interest to genealogists: the Information Services, the Archives, and the Local Records divisions. The Information Services Division contains such records as published histories, vital record indexes, census records, and military records. The Archives Division preserves colonial, republic, and state government records, while the Local Records Division maintains valuable city and county government records. Microfilm copies of the city and county records are distributed among 26 Texas repositories.

A helpful guide to important sources at the Texas State Archives is:

The Texas State Library will loan selected materials from their Genealogy Collection. For a list of materials available for circulation, see Texas State Library, Texas State Library Circulating Genealogy Duplicates List. Austin, Texas: Texas State Library, 1992. FHL book 976.4 A3t A 1985 edition is available on FHL fiche 6047934

References

  1. William Dollarhide and Ronald A. Bremer. America's Best Genealogy Resource Centers (Bountiful, Utah: Heritage Quest, 1998), 107. At various libraries (WorldCat). FHL Ref Book 973 J54d.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:03.
  • This page has been accessed 948 times.