Theale, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.pngSomerset Parishes


Contents

Parish History

THEALE, a chapelry, in the parish of Wedmore, union of Axbridge, hundred of Bempstone, E. division of Somerset, 7 miles (S. S. E.) from Axbridge.[1]


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Theale, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
SOPC = Somerset Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
THEALE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1828-1901
1844-1900
1828-1912
SOPC 1828-1899
1844-1899
1828-1911

.

Census records

 

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474594.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Date accessed and adapted: 25 September 2013.
  2. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 17 October 2013.
  3. Somerset Online Parish Clerks Genealogy, accessed 22 October 2013.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 May 2014, at 00:07.
  • This page has been accessed 935 times.