Thelveton, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Thelveton, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Thelveton, Norfolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Diss
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Depwade PLU
Registration District Depwade
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1698
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Redenhall
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

THELVETON (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Depwade, hundred of Diss, E. division of Norfolk, 3 miles (E. by N.) from Diss. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Thelveton, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[6]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[7]
Thelveton, Norfolk Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1539-1753

FREG 1550-1639, 1721-1900
1539-1900
1721-1901
FS ATs 1725-1812 1725-1812 1725-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1539-1639, 1721-1901 Undefined 1539-1639, 1721-1902 Undefined 1539-1639, 1721-1901
JOIN
1813-1837

Known Issues

Images of this parish register are available on line in FamilySearch Historical Records. An error in loading has taken place and the images for Hunstanton, Norfolk are displayed under the Baptisms marriages and burials way point which is also incorrect for years in the images. The loading correction awaits future engineering.

Content Film
General register, 1539-1812 (baptisms, burials, 1539-1812; marriages, 1539-1753, 1783-1790; marriage banns, 1783-1790). Baptisms, 1813-1901. Marriages, 1755-1812; marriage banns, 1755-1814. Marriages, 1813-1902. Burials, 1813-1901. Marriage banns, 1825-1884, 1965. Churchwardens accounts, 1794-1862. Constables accounts, 1794-1836. FHL BRITISH Film
1951635 Items 5 - 16

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438852.

Poor Law Union

Depwade Poor Law Union

See also England Norfolk Poor Law Union Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 321-326. Date accessed: 15 July 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  6. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  7. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 February 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:47.
  • This page has been accessed 1,373 times.