Thelwall, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes 

Guide to Thelwall, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Thelwall, Cheshire
Thelwall All Saints Cheshire.jpg
Thelwall All Saints Cheshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bucklow
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Warrington PLU
Registration District Warrington
Records begin
Parish registers: 1782
Bishop's Transcripts: 1812
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Frodsham
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

THELWALL, is a township, in the parochial chapelry of Daresbury, parish of Runcorn, union of Warrington, East division of the hundred of Bucklow, North division of the county of Chester, it is 3 miles (E. S. E.) from Warrington. The church, dedicated to All Saints, was rebuilt in 1843.[1]

Thelwall All Saints was formed as chapel to  Runcorn All Saints, Cheshire Ancient parish and became the parish church for part of Thelwall in 1870; other parts of the parish from 1866 are served by  All Saints Latchford, Cheshire.

The origins of a church or chapel at Thelwall are unclear. It has been thought that a chapel was built by Richard Brooke of Norton Priory but a legal suit in 1663 suggests that there was a chapel on the site before this date. At this time Thelwall was in the parish of Runcorn. In 1663 the chapel on the site was restored by Robert Pickering. After this the chapel fell into disrepair. It was restored again and re-opened in 1782.By the following century the church was too small for its congregation and in 1843 a new church was built and consecrated.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241235.

Church records

Thelwall All Saints parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Thelwall All Saints Parish (1782) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1813-1890
  NONE
1846-1934
  NONE
1813-1915
  NONE
FS BT'S 1812-1847   NONE
    NONE
  NONE
1812-1855
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers for Thelwall, 1782-1952 Cheshire Record Office call number: P239/1-4, P239/3/2-4. Thelwall is a chapelry in Runcorn ancient parish

An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online in Family Search Historical Records (formerly Record Search)

Parish registers Content FHL Film
Churchwardens' accounts 1782-1812. Baptisms, 1782-1863 Marriages, 1846-1901. Burials, 1782-1915. BRITISH 1999730 Items 6-9
Marriages, 1914-1952. VAULT BRITISH 2262943 Items 5 - 7

Bishop's transcripts for Thelwall, 1812-1855 Also known as All Saints' Chape Chapelry in Runcorn parish.
Cheshire Record Office call number: EDB 197

An index for Cheshire, Church of England, Bishop’s transcripts is available online inFamilySearch Historical Records (formerly Record Search)

Bishop's transcripts Content FHL Film
Baptisms, burials, 1812-1833, 1835-1836, 1839-1847, 1855. Marriages, 1846. BRITISH
1647671 Item 5
Non-Conformist Churches

None

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  • Runcorn (1837–45)
  • Warrington (1845–96)
  • Runcorn (1896–1937)
  • Warrington post 1937

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Thelwall on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 12 April 2013

Bibliography

Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, pp. 356–357, ISBN 0 300 09588 0

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 November 2014, at 20:37.
  • This page has been accessed 1,334 times.