Themelthorpe, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  NorfolkGotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Themelthorpe, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Themelthorpe, Norfolk
St Andrew, Themelthorpe, Norfolk .jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Eynsford
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Aylsham PLU
Registration District Aylsham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1715
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sparham
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

THEMELTHORPE (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Aylsham, hundred of Eynsford, E. division of Norfolk, 1¾ mile (E. by S.) from Foulsham. [1]

Themelthorpe St Andrew is an Ancient parish in the diocese of Norfolk.

The church is isolated , a predominantly 13th century modification of an earlier Norman church. Themelthorpe is small settlement with the remaining railway  cutting and dismantled railway bed, part of the Themelthorpe Curve which joined two railway lines together. The track closed in 1985.

Themelthorpe is a civil parish in the English county of Norfolk, 3 miles (4.8 km) north west of Reepham. For the purposes of local government, it is within the district of Broadland.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Themelthorpe, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[7]
Themelthorpe, Norfolk Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1600-1812
1600-1837
1600-1900
FS ATs 1600-1812 1600-1812 1600-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1715-1812 Undefined 1715-1836 Undefined 1715-1997
JOIN
1814-1836

NBI

1715-1997

Norfolk Record Office reference PD 342

Parish registers of Themelthorpe Microfilm copies of original records in the Norfolk Record Office, Norwich.

Norfolk Record Office no.: PD342/10.

Baptisms, 1715-1812, marriages, 1715-1753, burials, 1715-1810; marriages, 1756-1808, banns, 1756-1822; marriages, 1813-1837. FHL BRITISH Film 1596158 Items 11 - 13
Burials, 1813-1997. FHL BRITISH Film 2147114 Item 23

Archdeacons transcripts Microfilm copies of original records in the Norfolk Record Office, Central Library, Norwich, Norfolk, England.
Early entries in Latin.

Baptisms 1600-1610, 1624-1633, 1666-1812 Marriages 1603-1610, 1633, 1669-1808 Burials 1603-1610, 1629-1630, 1666-1810 FHL BRITISH Film 1526782 Item 13

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438855.

Poor Law Unions

Aylsham Poor Law Union

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 321-326. Date accessed: 15 July 2013
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.
  7. 'National Burial Index - Norfolk Coverage,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 16 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:25.
  • This page has been accessed 1,208 times.