Thetford St Peter, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Thetford St Peter, Norfolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Thetford Borough
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Thetford PLU
Registration District Thetford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653; For more records see Thetford St Mary the Less (Suffolk)
Bishop's Transcripts: 1602
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Thetford
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Thetford.-- mun. bor. and market town, Norfolk and Suffolk, at the confluence of the Thet and the Little Ouse, 14 miles N. of Bury St Edmunds and 93 miles NE. of London. The bor.comprises the parishes of Thetford St Cuthbert Thetford St MarThetford St Peterthe last wholly in Norfolk. [1]


Thetford is a market town and civil parish in the Breckland district of Norfolk Thetford Wikipedia

It is the site of the ruined Thetford Priory Thetford Priory Wikipedia and Thetford Priory English Heritage website

Thetford St Peter is an Ancient Parish in the diocese of Norwich and was linked at one time to Thetford St Mary the Less, Suffolk and Thetford St Cuthbert, Norfolk

The Parish church of St Peter White Hart Street Thetford has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

The history of the churches of Thetford Norfolk are found in Frences Blomfield 'Thetford, chapter 15: Of the Parish churches in the town', An Essay towards a Topographical History of the County of Norfolk: volume 2 (1805), pp. 59-76. at British History Online

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Thetford St Peter, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
Thetford St Peter, Norfolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1602-1868
1602-1837
1602-1812
FS ATs 1602-1812 1602-1812 1602-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1653-1672 Undefined 1653-1672 Undefined 1653-1672

Few of this parish's registers appear on FamilySearch as no microfilm for the parish is held. A combined record with Thetford St Cuthbert, Norfolk and Thetford St Mary the Less, Suffolk has been digitized (marriages and burials for the parish 1653-1672).
A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue identifies the following Archdeacon's transcripts:

Content
Film
Burials and marriages 1602-1608, 1623-1630, 1665-1716, 1763-1812 Baptisms 1602-1608, 1623-1630, 1665-1717, 1763-1812 FHL BRITISH Film
1526784 Item 10

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438871.



Poor Law Unions

Thetford Poor Law Union

See also England Norfolk Poor Law Union Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles (1887).
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:20.
  • This page has been accessed 974 times.