Thockrington, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Thockrington, Northumberland family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Thockrington, Northumberland
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Tindale
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Bellingham PLU
Registration District Bellingham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1715
Bishop's Transcripts: 1815
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newcastle upon Tyne
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Prebend of Tockerington
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

THOCKRINGTON, a parish, in the union of Bellingham, N. E. division of Tindale ward, S. division of Northumberland; containing, with the townships of Little Bavington, Cary-Coats, and Sweethope. The small hamlet which is the head of the parish is said to have been once a good village containing numerous farmers. There is a place of worship for Primitive Methodists.[1]

Additional information:

Thockrington Church, the oldest parish church in Northumberland, is perched on an outcrop of the Whin Sill, about a mile to the north of the Hexham to Alnmouth 'Corn Road' between Colwell and Little Bavington, and some 700 feet above sea level. Despite its remoteness the church is visited by many who value its tranquillity, and its landscape.

An Ancient parish which includes Bavington Little, Carrycoats, Sweethope, and Thockrington.

St Aidan Church Thockrington Church, latterly attributed to St. Aidan as patron saint, was built by the Norman family of Umfraville in 1100 AD. It remained in their possession, with adjoining lands, until 1226, when they were forfeited to the Archbishop of York as compensation for disturbances to the peace of the Prior of Hexham and damage done to the Archbishop's lands by Robert Umfraville. The Archbishop assigned the church and its revenues as an endowment for a prebend in his cathedral in York. This arrangement lasted 625 years, until the death of the last prebend in 1851, when it was merged into the diocese of Durham. However, the association continues; there is still the Tockerington stall at York Minster.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/249 Date: 1815-1862
Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Thockrington, St Aidan: Records of baptisms 1715-1936, marriages 1736-1936 and burials 1735-1929 are available at Northumberland Collections Service .The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1715-1753 and marriages 1736-1874 (with gaps) for this parish, but it is not included in Boyd's Marriage Index. Transcripts of baptisms 1715-1851 and marriages and burials 1736-1851 are available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept. A transcript of monumental inscriptions at Thockrington (microfiche TN79) is published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society and these records are also available in book form at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Department.

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438896.

Poor Law Unions

Bellingham Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 13 August 2013.
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2014, at 16:30.
  • This page has been accessed 568 times.