Thompson, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Thompson, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Thompson, Norfolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wayland
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Wayland PLU
Registration District Wayland
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1602
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Breckles
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

THOMPSON, a parish in Wayland district, Norfolk; 2½ miles SSE of Watton. [1]

Thompson, St Martin is an ecclesiatical parish in the Diocese of Norwich and county of Norfolk.

Church Records

Thompson, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[5]
Thompson, Norfolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1600-1879
1600-1812
1600-1812
FS ATs 1602-1812 1602-1812 1602-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
TIN 1813-1880


Norfolk Record Office reference PD 156/ 1-5

A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue identifies the following  Archdeacon's transcripts:

Content Film
Baptisms and burials 1602-1610, 1623-1630, 1665-1812 Marriages 1602-1610, 1623-1630, 1665-1811 FHL BRITISH Film
1526739 Item 9

Poor Law Unions

For more information on the history of the workhouse, see Peter Higginbotham's web site: www.workhouses.org.uk and ...

Registration Districts

  • Wayland 1837-1974

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438867.

Probate Jurisdictions

Norfolk Probate Jurisdictions Parishes T through Z

Maps

England Jurisdictions 1851

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72).
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 November 2014, at 17:47.
  • This page has been accessed 1,160 times.