Thormanby, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes S-Y Gotoarrow.png North Riding 

Guide to Thormanby, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Thormanby, Yorkshire
Thormanby St Mary Yorkshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bulmer
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Easingwold PLU
Registration District Easingwold
Records begin
Parish registers: 1658
Bishop's Transcripts: 1605
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bulmer
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Thormanbury St Mary is an Ancient  parish.

THORMANBY (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Easingwould, wapentake of Bulmer, N. riding of York, 4¼ miles (N. W. by N.) from Easingwould. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Thormanby, Yorkshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP= FindMyPast - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
THORMANBY PARISH (1730) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1600-1914 1600-1914 1665-1836 1665-1836 1658-1989 1658-1989
FREG 1658-1812 1660-1836 1661-1812
FS 1730-1898

1730-1907

1814-1895

JOIN None

1730-1828

None

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464229.

Poor Law Unions

Easingwold Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 328-330. Date accessed: 16 October 2013.
  2. 'Yorkshire Parish Records - Parish List,' findmypast, accessed 30 September 2014.
  3. http://www.freereg.org.uk/parishes/nry.htm 'Yorkshire North Riding,'] FreeREG, accessed 22 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:03.
  • This page has been accessed 968 times.