Thornaby, Yorkshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Thornaby, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Stockton PLU|
|Parish registers: 1630; Separate registers exist for Stockton in Cleveland St Paul beginning 1844|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600; Separate records exist for Stockton in Cleveland St Paul beginning 1844|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Thornaby on Tees is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Yorkshire, created in 1844 from chapelry in Stainton in Cleveland Stainton in Cleveland, Yorkshire Ancient Parish. Other places in the parish include: Stockton in Cleveland St Paul and South Stockton.
THORNABY, a district, in the parish of Stainton, union of Stockton, W. division of the liberty of Langbaurgh, N. riding of York, 1¾ mile (S. S. E.) from Stockton. In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Thornaby on Tees like this:
THORNABY, a township-chapelry in Stainton parish, N. R. Yorkshire; on the river Tees, adjacent to Stockton. It contains South Stockton, which has a post-office under Stockton-upon-Tees. Acres, 1,230. Real property, £7,239. Pop. in 1851, 1,759; in 1861, 3,126. Houses, 597. The increase of pop. arose from the erection of blast-furnaces, and the opening of iron-ship building yards. Pop. in 1868, about 6,000. The property is subdivided. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of York. Value, £300. Patron, the Archbishop of York.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of Thornaby exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|FMP= FindMyPast - (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|THORNABY CHAPELRY (1737) Online Records|
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Thornaby and comprising the whole ancient parish of Stainton to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Stainton parish page.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non Conformist Churches
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464234.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 17 May 2015, at 01:50.
- This page has been accessed 2,238 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News