Thornbury, Herefordshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Thornbury, Herefordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Thornbury St Anne Herefordshire
|Poor Law Union||Bromyard PLU|
|Parish registers: 1538|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1660|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Herefordshire Record Office|
THORNBURY, a parish, in the union of Bromyard, hundred of Broxash, county of Hereford, 4¼ miles (N. N. W.) from Bromyard. At Netherwood, Robert Devereux, Earl of Essex, who was beheaded in 1601, and Roger Mortimer, the last earl of March, were born. 
Thornbury St Anne is an Ancient Parish which included Westwood Fencott and Netherwood. The Ancient Parish boundary formed part of the county boundary with neighbouring Stoke Bliss, Worcestershire as found in Herefordshire Probate Records. The village and civil parish is Thornbury Thornbury Wikipedia
The church of St Anne has been designated as a grade II* listed Building British listed building
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Thornbury, Herefordshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|THORNBURY PARISH Online Records|
FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through the FHC Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.
Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)
The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 331-335. Accessed and adapted 7 May 2013.
- ↑ Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 11 June 2015, at 18:50.
- This page has been accessed 1,204 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News