Thorne, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes, S-Y Gotoarrow.png West Riding

Thorne, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Strafforth and Tickhill
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Thorne PLU
Registration District Thorne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1565
Bishop's Transcripts: 1601
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Doncaster
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Thorne St Nicholas is is an Ancient Parish and a market town in the county of Yorkshire. Other places in the parish include: Bradholme, Ditchmarsh, Hangman Hill, Waterside, Moor Ends, Quay, and Levels.

The parish church of St Nicholas has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

THORNE (St. Nicholas), a market-town and parish,and the head of a union, in the wapentake of Strafforth and Tickhill, W. riding of York, 29 miles (S. by E.) from York, and 165 (N. by W.) from London. [1]

See also Thorne South Yorkshire Wikipedia

Neighboring Parishes

Part of the parish boundary forms the County Boundary with Eastoft, Lincolnshire and Crowle, Lincolnshire

Resources

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from parish registers of Thorne exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Archive.org
FS = FamilySearch.org
ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk
THORNE PARISH (1724) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1724-1861
1724-1882
1795-1836

JOIN None

None

None

AC None

None

None


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding **Chapelry** and comprising the whole ancient parish of Thorne to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Thorne page.

Cemeteries

Civil registration

This parish was part of the Thorne registration district from 1837-1947 when it became part of the Don Valley registration district. Thorne registration district

Primary registration of births, marriages and deaths took place at the Doncaster registration district has been included in the online index available at Yorkshire BMD for post 1837 events; view the coverage table to check progress on the availability of index search. Marriages include

  • Church of England marriages.
  • Civil Marriages at register offices, or non-conformist churches where a registrar was required to be present at the ceremony.
  • Authorised Person marriages. These cover the non-conformist places of worship which applied to keep their own registers as a result of the Marriage Act, 1898 (bringing them into line with Jewish and Quaker marriages which had this status since 1837). In such cases an 'Authorised Person' (usually the minister or priest) recorded the ceremony instead of the registrar. Earlier weddings in these places would be included with civil marriage registers.

A secondary index of Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD however this secondary index may omit the event and may not contain the detail of the Yorkshire BMD index

Parish Records

This ancient parish was created before 1813.  Church of England records began in 1565.

There is a transcript of Thorne, Yorkshire Marriages 1565-1679 in the publication of Family History The Bi-MonthlyJournal of the Institute of Heraldic and Genealogical Studies  August 1970 Vol 5 Nos. 32/33 New Series Nos 8/9 pages 236-261. Familysearch catalog to this journal  

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464283.

Poor Law Unions

Thorne Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Bibiography

Genealogy and History Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 331-335. Date accessed: 16 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:15.
  • This page has been accessed 2,061 times.