Thornham, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Thornham, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Thornham, Norfolk
Thornham All Saints contributor Evelyn Simak.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Smithdon
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Docking PLU
Registration District Docking
Records begin
Parish registers: 1716
Bishop's Transcripts: 1705
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Heacham
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

THORNHAM (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Docking, hundred of Smithdon, W. division of Norfolk, 6¼ miles (W. by N.) from Burnham-Westgate. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Thornham All Saints is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Norwich.

Thornham is a village and civil parish in the English county of Norfolk. It is situated on the north Norfolk coast some 7 kilometres (4.3 mi) north-east of the seaside resort of Hunstanton, 30 km (19 mi) north of the town of King's Lynn and 70 km (43 mi) north-west of the city of Norwich.[ For the purposes of local government, the parish falls within the district of King's Lynn and West Norfolk.

HMS Thornham, a Ham class minesweeper, was named after the village. The ship's bell hangs in All Saints' Church.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Thornham, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = Template:RecordSearch&[3]
FS BTs = Template:RecordSearch&[4]
FS PRs = Template:RecordSearch&[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
Thornham, Norfolk Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1718-1880
1718-1837
1717-1901
FS ATs Template:RecordSearch& Template:RecordSearch& Template:RecordSearch&
FS BTs Template:RecordSearch& Template:RecordSearch& Template:RecordSearch& Template:RecordSearch& Template:RecordSearch& Template:RecordSearch&
FS PRs Template:RecordSearch& Template:RecordSearch& Template:RecordSearch& Template:RecordSearch& Template:RecordSearch& Template:RecordSearch&
JOIN
1813-1837

Norfolk Record Office reference PD576

Parish registers, 1716-1900 Microfilm copies of original records in the Norfolk Record Office, Norwich.

Baptisms 1718-1762 Marriages 1716-1753 Burials 1717-1762 Baptisms & burials 1762-1812 Baptisms 1813-1846 Marriages & banns 1755-1812 Marriages 1813-1867 Burials 1867-1900 Declaration of incorrect entry of baptism of John Allen as Robert (born 8 May 1799) FHL BRITISH Film 1657243 Items 20-29

Archdeacons transcripts, 1725-1812 Microfilm copies of original records in the Norfolk Record Office, Central Library, Norwich, Norfolk, England.

Baptisms, burials and marriages 1725-1812 FHL BRITISH Film 1526810 Item 10

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438865.

Poor Law Unions

Docking Poor Law Union, Norfolk

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 335-337. Date accessed:15 July 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:23.
  • This page has been accessed 1,189 times.