Thornhill, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes S-Y Gotoarrow.png West Riding Gotoarrow.png Thornhill

Guide to Thornhill, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

  
Thornhill, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Agbrigg
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Dewsbury PLU
Registration District Dewsbury; Wakefield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1580
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pontefract
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

THORNHILL (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Dewsbury, Lower division of the wapentake of Agbrigg, W. riding of York; containing, with the chapelry of Flockton, and the townships of Shitlington and Lower Whitley, 7201 inhabitants, of whom 2816 are in Thornhill township, 3 miles (S. by E.) from Dewsbury.[1]

Neighboring Parishes

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Cemeteries

Parish Records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Thornton exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS = FamilySearch.org
HATH = HathiTrust.org - free
IARC = Internet Archive - free
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
THORNHILL PARISH (1580) Online Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1580-1812 1580-1812 1580-1812 1580-1812 1580-1812 1580-1812
AC 1813-1910 1813-1910
FREG 1580-1743 1580-1812 1580-1812
FS 1580-1886 1500, 1587-1903 1580-1927
HATH 1743-1812 1746-1753 1678-1812
IARC 1717-1812 1754-1812 1717-1812
JOIN None 1580-1837 None

Thornhill is an 'ancient' parish (created before 1813) in the diocese of Wakefield. Church of England records for Thornhill St. Michael's survive from 1580.  Other pre-1837 Church of England (Anglican) churches in Thornhill parish include:

  • St. James the Greater, Flockton (with records from 1813) 

The original registers are deposited at the West Yorkshire Archives in Wakefield.  Microfilm/fiche copies are available at archive branches such as Leeds at Sheepscar and Kirklees in Huddersfield.

The copies made by the minister (ordered by an Act of 1598) and sent each year to the Bishop of the diocese (known as parish register transcripts or Bishop's transcripts) survive from 1600 and are deposited at the West Yorkshire Archives branch in Sheepscar, Leeds. 

TheFamily History Library in Salt Lake City has both parish registers and bishop's transcripts on microfilm for Thornhill and its chapelry, which are listed in the FamilySearch Catalog.  Many of these records are indexed in the International Genealogical Index available online through the 'Advanced Search' at www.familysearch.org.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464241.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Bibiography

Genealogy and History Websites


References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 335-337. Date accessed: 16 October 2013.
  2. 'West Yorkshire, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1910,' Ancestry, accessed 13 May 2014.
  3. 'Yorkshire West Riding,' FreeREG, accessed 22 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:08.
  • This page has been accessed 2,422 times.