Thornton, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Lancashire go to Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Thornton, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Thornton, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Amounderness
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union West Derby PLU
Registration District Fylde
Records begin
Parish registers: 1836; Separate registers exist for Fleetwood beginning 1841
Bishop's Transcripts: 1837
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Amounderness
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

THORNTON, a township with a chapel of ease, in the parish of Poulton, union of the Fylde, hundred of Amounderness, N. division of Lancashire, 1¾ mile north by east from Poulton; containing, with the town of Fleetwood (which see). A church, dedicated to Christ [Church], was erected in 1835.[1] 

Historically part of Lancashire. During the compilation of the Domesday Book in 1086, the settlement of Torentún is recorded, along with the settlement of Homer Green, which far outdates any claim that Ince Blundell is the oldest village in Sefton. Thornton was combined with Crosby Village and Blundellsands to form the Great Crosby urban district. The district subsequently became part the municipal borough of Crosby in 1937. This in turn was absorbed into the new Metropolitan Borough of Sefton on 1 April 1974. Thornton still however retains Parish Council status and therefore has a historical boundary.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Thornton chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Poulton le Fylde to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


THORNTON CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry (1836) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC 1836-1900 1838-1900 1837-1900
LBMD   1838-1986 None
POULTON LE FYLDE ST CHAD PARISH (1591) Indexes (ancient parish containing THORNTON Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1591-1900 1592-1837  1683-1854
LOPC 1591-1900 1592-1900 1592-1900
LBMD 1837-1889 1837-1983 1837-1889
FMP None 1592-1837 None


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Thornton and comprising the whole ancient parish of Poulton le Fylde to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the POULTON LE FYLDE PARISH page.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306905.


Poor Law Unions

West Derby, Lancashire Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. A Topographical Dictionary of England by Samuel Lewis (1848), pp. 337-341.Date accessed: 19 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:10.
  • This page has been accessed 1,385 times.