Thornton in Lonsdale, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes, S-YGotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Thornton in Lonsdale Guide to Thornton in Lonsdale Yorkshire and Lancashire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Thornton in Lonsdale, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lonsdale; Staincliff and Ewcross
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Settle PLU
Registration District Lancaster; Settle
Records begin
Parish registers: 1576
Bishop's Transcripts: 1689
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Clapham
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Lonsdale
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Part of this parish is in Lancashire. See also Thornton in Lonsdale, Lancashire.

Parish History

Thornton in Lonsdale is an Ancient Parish mostly in Yorkshire and partly in Lancashire. Other places in this parish include Ireby.

THORNTON-IN-LONSDALE (St. Oswald), a parish, partly in the hundred of Lonsdale south of the Sands, N. division of Lancashire, but chiefly in the union of Settle, wapentake of Staincliffe and Ewcross, W. riding of York; containing, with Ireby township, which forms the Lancashire portion, and with Black-Burton township, 1138 inhabitants, of whom 364 are in the township of Thornton, 11½ miles (N. W.) from Settle.[1]

Neighboring Parishes

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from parish registers of Thornton in Lonsdale exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Internet Archive - free
FS = FamilySearch.org
ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org - free
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk
THORNTON IN LONSDALE PARISH (1576) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1576-1848

1576-1846

None

JOIN None

1576-1812

None

AC 1576-1812

1576-1812

1576-1812


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Burton in Lonsdale and comprising the whole ancient parish of Thornton in Lonsdale to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Thornton in Lonsdale page.

This ancient parish was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1576.

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection

Cemeteries

Census

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464273.
 

Surname Index for 1841-1901 provided by Ingleborough Archaeology Freebooters. These surnames were gleaned from the images in Thornton in Lonsdale census enumerators books 1841-1901.

Surname Index for 1841-1901 provided by Ingleborough Archaeology Freebooters. These surnames were gleaned from the images in Ireby census enumerators books 1841-1901.

Taxation

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 337-341. Date accessed: 16 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:13.
  • This page has been accessed 1,549 times.