Thornton le Moors, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes

Guide to Thornton le Moors, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Thornton le Moors, Cheshire
Thornton le Moors St Mary contributor John Lord.jpg
Thornton le Moors St Mary contributor John Lord
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Eddisbury
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Great Boughton PLU
Registration District Great Boughton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1574
Bishop's Transcripts: 1588
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chester
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

THORNTON (St. Mary), is a parish, in the union of Great Boughton, Second division of the hundred of Eddisbury. South division of the county of Chester; containing, with the townships of Dunham-on-the-Hill, Elton, Hapsford, and Wimbolds-Trafford, as well as the township of Thornton-in-the Moors, it is 6 miles (N. N. E.) from Chester.[1]

Thornton le Moors St Mary, Cheshire is an Ancient parish and includes Dunham on the Hill, Elton (near Chester), Hapsford, Thornton le Moors and Wimbolds Trafford.

A chapel was present on the site in Saxon times and is recorded in the Domesday Book. It was formerly dedicated to St Helen. The nave, chancel and south aisle of the present church date from the 14th century as does the south door. A chapel, the Elton Chapel, was added in the 16th century. A restoration was carried out in 1878.The church has undergone further restoration in recent years

Thornton le Moors was a township in Thornton Parish, Eddisbury Hundred, which became a civil parish in 1866.

Thornton-le-Moors is a village and civil parish in the unitary authority of Cheshire West and Chester and the ceremonial county of Cheshire, England. 

The village is seven miles north east of the city of Chester. To the north of the village is the Stanlow Refinery. To the west is the nearest town of Ellesmere Port and to the north west is the nearest village, Elton

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241237.

Church records

Thornton le Moors St Mary parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Thornton le Moors St Mary Parish (1574) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1762-1891
1762-1859

FS PR's 1574-1901
  NONE
1574-1903
  NONE
1574-1898
  NONE
FS BT'S 1588-1891
  NONE
1588-1859
  NONE
'1588-1891
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers for Thornton-le-Moors, Cheshire, 1574-1901 Cheshire Record Office reference: P163/1/1-3, P163/2/1-3, P163/3/1-2, P163/5/1-2.

Parish registers Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1574-1901. Marriages, 1574-1837. Burials, 1574-1876. BRITISH 2106684 Items 5 - 14
Burials, 1876-1898. BRITISH 2106685 Item 1
Burials, 1853-1898. VAULT BRITISH 2356830 Item 1

An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online in FamilySearch Historical Records

Bishop's transcripts for Thornton-le-Moors, 1601-1891 Records are not arranged in strict chronological order. Some intermittent years are missing. Cheshire Record Office no.: EDB/199

Bishop's transcripts Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1601, 1611, 1614-1617, 1623, 1626-1632, 1634-1635, 1637, 1639-1641, 1663-1664, 1668-1684, 1689-1692, 1694-1755, 1757-1760. BRITISH 1836192 Item 2
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1761, 1763-1789, 1792-1847, 1849-1859. Baptisms, burials, 1860-1880, 1887-1891. BRITISH 1836235
Non-Conformist Churches

None

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  • Great Boughton (1837–69)
  • Chester (1870–1937) 
  • West Cheshire (1937–74)
  • Chester and Ellesmere Port (1974–98)
  • Cheshire West (post 1998)

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Thornton le Moors on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 12 April 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.

Bibliography

  • Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: B. T Batsford, pp. 328–330
  • Salter, Mark (1995), The Old Parish Churches of Cheshire, Malvern: Folly Publications, p. 75, ISBN 1871731232

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 November 2014, at 20:39.
  • This page has been accessed 2,868 times.