Thornton le Street, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes, S-Y Gotoarrow.png North Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Thornton le Street

Thornton le Street, Yorkshire
Thornton-le-Street St Leonard Yorkshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Allertonshire
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Thirsk PLU
Registration District Thirsk
Records begin
Parish registers: 1598
Bishop's Transcripts: 1669
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cleveland
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1836 - Court of the Peculiar of the Bishop of Durham and the Dean and Chapter of Allerton and Allertonshire; Post-1835 - Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Thornton-le-Street St Leonard is an Ancient Parish.

THORNTON-LE-STREET (St. Leonard), a parish, in the union of Thirsk, wapentake of Allertonshire, N. riding of York, 3 miles (N. N. W.) from Thirsk; containing, with the township of North Kilvington, 224 inhabitants, of whom 161 are in Thornton township. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from parish registers of Thornton le Street exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Internet Archive - free
FS = FamilySearch.org
ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org - free
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk
THORNTON LE STREET PARISH (1813) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1813-1874

1813-1875

None

JOIN None

1813-1837

None

AC None

None

None


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding **Chapelry** and comprising the whole ancient parish of Thornton le Street to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Thornton le Street page.

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

The Bishop's transcripts can be searched free online at FamilySearch Historical Records from the Durham Bishop's Transcripts at Thornton-le-Street (Yorkshire)
Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections
DDR/EA/PBT/2/252
Parish Register Transcripts Thornton-le-Street (Yorkshire)

  • [April 1669-April 1770]
  • April 1696-April 1697
  • March 1714-March 1715
  • [March] 1718- March [1720]
  • March 1721-March 1722
  • 1760-1812

Additional material is found in Durham Bishop's Transcripts: The Howe Manuscript Collection under reference HBT 51 for 25 March 1729- 25 March 1730.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464227.

Poor Law Unions

Thirsk Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 337-341. Date accessed: 16 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 June 2014, at 21:58.
  • This page has been accessed 846 times.