Thornton with AllerthorpeEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes S-YGotoarrow.png East Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Thornton with Allerthorpe

Guide to Thornton with Allerthorpe, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

  
Thornton with Allerthorpe
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Harthill
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Pocklington PLU
Registration District Pocklington
Records begin
Parish registers: 1615; Separate registers exist for Allerthorpe beginning 1616
Bishop's Transcripts: 1602; Separate records exist for Allerthorpe beginning 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Harthill and Hull
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

THORNTON (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Pocklington, partly in the Wilton-Beacon, but chiefly in the Holme-Beacon, division of the wapentake of Harthill, E. riding of York, 4¼ miles (S. W.) from Pocklington. Other places in the parish include: Allerthorpe, Melbourne, Waplington, Storwood, and Storthwaite. Non-Church of England denominations identified in Thornton with Allerthorpe include: Primitive Methodist and Wesleyan Methodist.[1] Thornton with Allerthorpe is an Ancient Parish in the county of Yorkshire.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Thornton with Allerthorpe parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
Thornton with Allerthorpe Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
NBI

1780-1837


Records begin with  Parish Registers for Thornton with Allerthorpe: 1615  Bishops Transcripts 1602
Separate registers exist for Allerthorpe.  Parish Registers:  1616  Bishops Transcript s 1600

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464218.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 337-341. Adapted. Date accessed: 16 October 2013.
  2. 'National Burial Index - Yorkshire (City and Ainsty) Coverage,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 20 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:51.
  • This page has been accessed 1,040 times.