Thoroton, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Contents

Parish History

Thoroton, Nottinghamshire
Thoroton St Helen Nottinghamshire.jpg
Thoroton St Helen Nottinghamshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bingham
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Bingham PLU
Registration District Bingham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1583; For more records see Orston
Bishop's Transcripts: 1612
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bingham
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

THOROTON (St. Elena), a parish, in the union, and N. division of the wapentake, of Bingham, S. division of the county of Nottingham, 8 miles (S. S. W.) from Newark.[1]

Additional information:

The living is annexed, with that of Scarrington, to the vicarage of Orston.

The history of the church has been researched by the Southwell and Nottingham Church History Project Thoroton St Helena

The Parish Church of St Helena has been designated a grade I listed building British listed building

See also Thoroton Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Thoroton St Helena parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
THOROTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL

1583-1812


Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1583-1903 Marriages 1507-1899 Burials 1587-1983 Bishop’s Transcripts 1612-1854

Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Thoroton

Thoroton - St. Helena.  A alphabetical listing of  transcriptions of Memorial Inscriptions of the St. Helena Church Yard, dated from 1724, giving surname, given name, date of death, and age.  Also a Marble plaque for those killed in action.   Article in The Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 93, pages 50-51. FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438903.
See Nottinghamshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Bingham Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 09 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 August 2014, at 23:47.
  • This page has been accessed 841 times.