Thorpe, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Contents

Parish History

Thorpe, Nottinghamshire
Thorpe St Laurence&Rectory House Nottinghamshire.jpg
Thorpe St Laurence&Rectory House Nottinghamshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Newark
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Southwell PLU
Registration District Southwell
Records begin
Parish registers: 1542
Bishop's Transcripts: 1632
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newark
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

THORPE (St. Lawrence), a parish, in the union of Southwell, S. division of the wapentake of Newark and of the county of Nottingham, 3 miles (S. W.) from Newark. The parish is situated about half a mile east of the river Trent, and of the old Fosse road from Nottingham to Newark.[1]

Additional information:

Thorpe St Lawrence is an Ancient Parish in the village of Thorpe (sometimes called Thorpe-by-Newark) in the Newark and Sherwood district of Nottinghamshire.

The Parish Church of St Lawrence has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

See also Thorpe Wikipedia and St Lawrence's Church Thorpe Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Thorpe St Laurence parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
THORPE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL

1559-1800


Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1560-1901 Marriages 1566-1901 Burials 1542-1902 Bishop’s Transcripts 1632-1843

Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Thorpe

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438907.

See Nottinghamshire Census

1821 Census Thorpe next Newartk.  Shows head of the household, number of  males and females within various age groups, within the household.  Original held at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref PR 5799, transcription in the Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol. 95, page 53, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Poor Law Unions

Southwell Poor Law Union,Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 09 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 August 2014, at 15:29.
  • This page has been accessed 985 times.