Thorpe Salvin, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes, S-YGotoarrow.png West Riding Gotoarrow.png Thorpe Salvin

Thorpe Salvin, Yorkshire
Thorpe Salvin St Peter Rotherham Yorkshire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Strafforth and Tickhill
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Worksop PLU
Registration District Worksop
Records begin
Parish registers: 1592
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Doncaster
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Chancellor of York with the Prebendal Jurisdiction of Laughton en le Morthen
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Thorpe Salvin St Peter is an Ecclesiastical parish in the Metropolitan Borough of Rotherham in South Yorkshire which includes Netherthorpe and was formed in 1775 as a chapelry of Laughton en le Morthen, Yorkshire Ancient parish. The parish boundary forms part of the county boundary with Worksop St Mary and St Cuthbert, Nottinghamshire

The Parish Church of St Peter in Harthill Road has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

THORPE-SALVIN (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Worksop, S. division of the wapentake of Strafforth and Tickhill, W. riding of York, 5 miles(W. by N.) from Worksop.[1]

See also Thorpe Salvin Wikipedia

Neighboring Parishes

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

For history of civil registration in this area see Worksop Registration District

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from parish registers of Thorpe Salvin exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Internet Archive - free
FS = FamilySearch.org
ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org - free
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk
THORPE SALVIN PARISH (1592) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1592-1836

1593-1844

None

JOIN None

None

None

AC None

None

None


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding **Chapelry** and comprising the whole ancient parish of Thorpe Salvin to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Thorpe Salvin page.

This ancient parish was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1592.

Link to FamilySearch Catalogue for fims in their collection Thorpe Salvin

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464283.

Poor Law Unions

Worksop Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Bibiography

Genealogy and History Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 343-346. Date accessed: 16 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:13.
  • This page has been accessed 1,135 times.