Threapwood, CheshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Threapwood, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers (baptism, christening, marriage, and burial records), civil registration (birth, marriage, and death records), census records, history, wills, cemetery, online transcriptions and indexes, an interactive map and websites.
This parish was partly in Flintshire, Wales. See also, Threapwood, Flintshire, Wales.
"THREAP-WOOD, an extra-parochial district, said to be partly included in the hundred of Broxton, county of Chester, but chiefly in that of Maelor, county of Flint, 3 miles (W.S.W.) from Malpas, containing 477 inhabitants. It is surrounded by the parishes of Malpas, Hanmer, and Worthenbury, and until of late years, formed a tract of waste common, which, on accoutn of its extra-parochial exemption from all local jurisdiction, was long the resort of abandoned charcters of every description, and especially of women of loose or blemished morals, who made a transient abode here, to be freed clandestinely from the consequences of illicit amours." [A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833, Samuel Lewis]
Threapwood was an extra-parochial place, partly in Broxton Hundred (Cheshire) and partly in Maelor Hundred (Flintshire), which became a civil parish in 1866. It included the hamlets of Sarn (part) and Upper Threapwood.
It is necessary to search the neighbouring ecclesiastical parish of Malpas. Threapwood is an extra-parochial place. Search surrounding parishes for records and information.
In 1817 the chapelry of St John the Baptist was created from the ancient parish of Malpas.
In 1896 the part of Threapwood in Flintshire was added to Cheshire, Hundred: Broxton; Province: York.
The 1841 census returns for Threapwood are missing. Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 104269. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Threapwood St John Chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts|
|Threapwood St John Chapelry (1817) Online Records|
|FS PR's|| 1817-1909
|FS BT'S|| 1817-1840
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Threapwood, St. John (C. of E). Founded 1817 as a chapel to Malpas (formerly extra-parochial), becoming the parish church for Threapwood in 1968. Registers of Baptisms 1817–1944, Marriages 1837–1966 and Burials 1829–1989 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office. Bishop's transcripts for Threapwood, 1817-1840
Cheshire, Church of England Baptismal records are available online at FamilySearch Historical Records.
Microfilm of originals in the Cheshire Record Office, Chester.Cheshire Record Office: EDB 200
|Bishop's transcripts content||FHL Film|
|Baptisms: 1817-1829, 1832-1836. Marriages: 1832-1834. Burials: 1832-1835.||BRITISH 1647671 Item 7|
|Baptisms: 1835-1840. Burial:, 1840-1839.||BRITISH 1647714 Item 1|
Parish registers for Threapwood, 1817-1989 Microfilm of original records in the Cheshire Record Office, Chester, England.
(Threapwood was originally a chapelry bordering Cheshire and Flint in the Parish of Malpas).Cheshire Record Office no.: P203/1/1-2, P203/4622/22, 24.
|Parish registers content||FHL Film|
|Baptisms: 1817-1944. Marriages: 1837-1966. Burials: 1829-1989.|| BRITISH 2000014|
Items 7 - 10
Threapwood, United Reformed Church (Independent/Congregational). Built in 1850. United Reformed Church Cheshire Congregational Union Deeds and property records are deposited Cheshire Record Office (DocumentReference ECU/3151/1/45).
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:
- Wrexham (1837–96)
- Whitchurch (1897–1937)
- West Cheshire (1937–74)
- Chester and Ellesmere Port (1974–98)
- Cheshire West (post 1998)
Poor Law Unions
- Wrexham 1837-1896
Probate Court: Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory) Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish. See also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
School registers, 1898-1945 Threapwood National School (Cheshire) Cheshire school records are available on-line at FamilySearch Historical Records within limits of privacy laws. Microfilm of original records in the Cheshire Record Office, Chester, England.
Record contains register of admission, progress, and withdrawal, 1898-1945 and includes index.
Cheshire Record Office no.: SL 141/2
|Other content||FHL Film|
|School registers, 1898-1945||BRITISH 1894891 Item 8|
- This page was last modified on 20 September 2013, at 18:53.
- This page has been accessed 731 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More