Thurgarton with Hoveringham, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Contents

Parish History

Thurgarton with Hoveringham, Nottinghamshire
Thurgarton St Peter Nottinghamshire.jpg
Thurgarton St Peter Nottinghamshire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Thurgarton
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Southwell PLU
Registration District Southwell
Records begin
Parish registers: 1721; Separate registers exist for Hoveringham beginning 1553
Bishop's Transcripts: 1627; Separate records exist for Holme beginning 1615
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Nottingham
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office


THURGARTON (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Southwell, Southwell division of the wapentake of Thurgarton and of the county of Nottingham, 3¼ miles (S. by W.) from Southwell. It is situated at the foot of a declivity overlooking the Trent. The Nottingham and Lincoln railway has a station here, 6½ miles from the Newark station.[1]

HOVERINGHAM (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Southwell, Southwell division of the wapentake of Thurgarton and of the county of Nottingham, 5 miles (S.) from Southwell.[2]

Additional information:

Thurgarton St Peter is an Ancient parish in the village and civil parish of Thurgaton in the Newark and Sherwood district of Nottinghamshire.

The history of the Priory Church has been researched by the Southwell and Nottingham Church History Project Thurgarton St Peter

The parish church of St Peter ( formerly a Priory Church) has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See also The Priory Church of St Peter Thurgarton Wikipedia

The church was restored in 1853 by Thomas Chambers Hine, and parish registers exist from 1721, whereas earlier records were lost in 1780.The Ancient parish of Hoverngham St Michael was united with Thurgaton in 1848 to form a united benefice. See Hoveringham Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Thurgarton St Peter parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
THURGARTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL

1790-1812


Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1721-2000 Marriages 1721-1992 Burials 1721-1991 Bishop’s Transcripts1627-1847

Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Thurgarton

Thurgaton. A transcription of Memorial Inscriptions dating from 1675, giving surname, given name, date of death and age. The original is held at Nottinhamshire Archives Ref DD/TS 19/29, and article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Magazine vol. 64, page 26, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n

Hoveringham parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[4]
HOVERINGHAM PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL

1790-1812


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438909.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Occupation

Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.

Poor Law Unions

Southwell Poor Law Union,Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Thurgarton in GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 09 December 2013.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 09 December 2013.
  3. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 November 2014, at 19:35.
  • This page has been accessed 1,123 times.