Thurstaston, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes

Guide to Thurstaston, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Thurstaston, Cheshire
St Bartholomew's, Thurstaston Cheshire.jpg
St Bartholomew's, Thurstaston Cheshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wirrall
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Wirral PLU
Registration District Wirrall
Records begin
Parish registers: 1706
Bishop's Transcripts: 1581
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wirral
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

THURSTASTON (St. Bartholomew), is a parish, in the union, and Lower division of the hundred, of Wirrall, South division of the county of Chester, it is 2½ miles (S. S. W.) from Upton; containing, with part of the townships of Greasby and Irby. The former church, was and was taken down, and then built in 1825.[1]

Thurstaston St Bartholomew is an Ancient parish which included Greasby and Irby.

The earliest mention of a Church occurs around 1125 but other evidence suggests that one may have existed in Saxon times. The Norman church endured for many hundreds of years but was eventually taken down in 1820 and a second edifice, a plain stone building, was completed in 1824.

Thurstaston means "village of a man called Thorsteinn / Þorsteinn", from the Old Norse personal name Thorsteinn / Þorsteinn and Old English tún "farm, village". A record of the name as Torstestiune in 1048 proves this origin. The village was mentioned in the Domesday Book as Turstanetone. Historically and popularly, the name was wrongly thought to refer to "Thor's Stone", a sandstone outcrop on Thurstaston Common. This local red Sandstone provided the material for the two nineteenth century churches.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241254.

Church records

Thurstaston St Bartholomew parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Thurstaston St Bartholomew Parish (1581) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1581-1836
1600-1739

FS PR's 1706-1907
  NONE
1706-1837
  NONE
1707-1946
  NONE
FS BT'S 1600-1896
  NONE
'1616-1837
  NONE
'1600-1894
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers for Thurstaston, 1706-1946 Cheshire Record Office Call number: P48/1/1-2, P48/2, P48/3/1-2, P48/5693.

Parish registers Content FHL Film
Baptisms, burials, 1706-1812. Baptisms, 1813-1907. Marriages (including banns), 1755-1812. Marriages, 1706-1753, 1815-1816, 1827-1837. BRITISH
2191047 Items 1 - 5
Burials, 1813-1946. BRITISH
2301157 Item 9

Bishop's transcripts for Thurstaston, 1587-1895 Records are not arranged in strict chronological order. Some intermittent years are missing. Cheshire Record Office Call number: EDB/201

Bishop's transcripts Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1587, 1600, 1604, 1617-1619, 1634-1635, 1638-1639, 1645, 1653, 1663-1664, 1666, 1668-1669, 1671, 1673, 1677, 1680-1681, 1684-1685, 1696-1698, 1705-1769, 1771-1821. Burials, 1822-1879, 1881-1882, 1888-1894. Baptisms, 1821-1895. Marriages, 1827-1828, 1831, 1833-1837. BRITISH
1836236 Item 1
Non-Conformist Churches

None

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  •  Wirral (1837–1974)
  •  Birkenhead (1974–98)
  •  Wirral (post1998)

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Thurstaston on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 12 April 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.

Bibliography

  • Morant, Roland W. (1989), Cheshire Churches, Birkenhead: Countyvise, pp. 182–183, ISBN 0 907768 18 0
  • Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, pp. 361–362, ISBN 0 300 09588 0

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 November 2014, at 20:44.
  • This page has been accessed 1,635 times.