Ticehurst, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Ticehurst, Sussex family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ticehurst, Sussex
Ticehurst St Mary East Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Shoyswell
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Ticehurst PLU
Registration District Ticehurst
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1593
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dallington
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

TICEHURST (St. Mary), a parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Shoyswell, rape of Hastings, E. division of Sussex, 6 miles (S.) from Lamberhurst. The village occupies a gentle eminence on the road from TonbridgeWells to Hastings, and in its immediate vicinity is Highlands, the property of Charles Newington, Esq. The church is principally in the decorated style of English architecture, and consists of a nave, aisles, chancel, and two chapels, with an embattled tower surmounted by a low spire. A district church dedicated to St. Peter, was erected in 1838, at Stonegate. Another district church in the same style, dedicated to St. Augustine, was erected in 1839, at Flimwell. The Wesleyans and Baptists have places of worship.[1]

Ticehurst St Mary is an Ancient Parish in the Rother district of East Sussex which included Flimwell in its boundary. Part of the parish boundary forms part of the county boundary with neighbours Kilndown, Kent and Hawkhurst, Kent

A history of the church Ticehurst St Mary

The Parish church of St Mary has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building Ticehurst Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

See also Ticehurst Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

For civil registration history see Ticehurst registration district

Church records

Ticehurst, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[4]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[5]
Ticehurst, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1653-1750

IGI 1560-1837 1559-1870
PRTS
1559-1812

SOPC Undefined
Undefined
Undefined

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Ticehurst

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464159.

Poor Law Unions

Ticehurst Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/Ticehurst/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 355-357. Date Accessed: 4 October 2013
  2. Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county, Origins.net (Wayback Machine), accessed 30 December 2013.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 3 January 2014.
  4. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.
  5. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 October 2014, at 21:13.
  • This page has been accessed 2,348 times.