Tickencote, RutlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png RutlandGotoarrow.png Rutland Parishes

Guide to Tickencote, Rutland ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Tickencote, Rutland
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East
County Rutland
Poor Law Union Oakham PLU
Registration District Oakham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1574
Bishop's Transcripts: 1707
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rutland
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Peterborough (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Rutland Record Office


Contents

Parish History

TICKENCOTE (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Oakham, hundred of East, county of Rutland,3 miles (N. W. by W.) from Stamford. [1]


TICKENCOTE, a parish in Oakham district, Rutland; 3 miles NW of Stamford r. station.[2]

The Victoria County History of Tickencote (1935) is available. It includes a history of the manor, church, advowson, and charities.[3]

Additional information:


Tickencote St Peter is an Ancient Parish; the includes a Norman chancel arch and unusual chancel roof ribbing. From 1909-12 the vicar was the Venerable Lonsdale Ragg, later the Archdeacon of Gibraltar from 1934-45. The church was partly rebuilt by Samuel Pepys Cockerell in 1792.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Tickencote, Rutland parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[6]
TICKENCOTE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1576-1837

IGI 1707-1812 1576-1837
PALL
1781-1836

Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office

Diocese of Peterborough : Tickencote Bap 1574 - 1812 Marr 1574 - 1972 Bur1574 -1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474578.

Poor Law Unions

Oakham Poor Law Union, Rutland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Rutland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 05 December 2013.
  2. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Adapted. Date accessed: 05 December 2013.
  3. A History of the County of Rutland, Volume 2 (1935). A History of the County of Rutland. Adapted. Date accessed: 05 December 2013.
  4. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Rutland, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 April 2014.
  6. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:49.
  • This page has been accessed 830 times.