Tickhill, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes, S-YGotoarrow.png West Riding Gotoarrow.png Tickhill

Tickhill, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Strafforth and Tickhill
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Doncaster PLU
Registration District Doncaster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1537
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Doncaster
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

TICKHILL (St. Mary), a market-town and parish, in the union of Doncaster, S. division of the wapentake of Strafforth and Tickhill, W. riding of York; containing, with the township of Stancill with Wellingley and Wilsick, 2040 inhabitants, of whom 1981 are in Tickhill township, 45 miles (S.) from York, and 157 (N. by W.) from London. There are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Primary registration of births, marriages and deaths took place at the Doncaster registration district has been included in the online index available at Yorkshire BMD for post 1837 events; view the coverage table to check progress on the availability of index search. Marriages include

  • Church of England marriages.
  • Civil Marriages at register offices, or non-conformist churches where a registrar was required to be present at the ceremony.
  • Authorised Person marriages. These cover the non-conformist places of worship which applied to keep their own registers as a result of the Marriage Act, 1898 (bringing them into line with Jewish and Quaker marriages which had this status since 1837). In such cases an 'Authorised Person' (usually the minister or priest) recorded the ceremony instead of the registrar. Earlier weddings in these places would be included with civil marriage registers.

A secondary index of Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD however this secondary index may omit the event and may not contain the detail of the Yorkshire BMD index

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from parish registers of Tickhill exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Internet Archive - free
FS = FamilySearch.org
ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org - free
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk
TICKHILL PARISH (1538) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1718-1866

1715-1867, 1881

1771-1899

JOIN None

1538-1837

None

AC None

None

None


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding **Chapelry** and comprising the whole ancient parish of Tickhill to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Tickhill page.

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This ancient parish was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1538.


The parish register for Tickhill has been transcribed A three volume set is available at The Family History Library in Salt Lake City it cover the years Contents: v. 174. 1538-1674 -- v. 177. 1674-1771 -- v. 3. 1771-1837 publications: Leeds : Yorkshire Archaeological Society. Parish Register Section, 2008-2010

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464283.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 355-357. Date accessed: 16 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 June 2014, at 22:12.
  • This page has been accessed 1,595 times.