Tideford, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Parishes

Guide to Tideford, Cornwall family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Tideford, Cornwall
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union St Germans PLU
Registration District St Germans
Records begin
Parish registers: 1845
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery East
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

TIDEFORD, a chapelry in St. Germans parish, Cornwall; 1 mile NNE of St. Germans r. station. It was constituted in 1852.[1]

Tideford St Luke is a Chapelry in the St. Gemans Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Cornwall, created in 1847 from St Germans, Cornwall Ancient Parish.

The small Wesleyan Methodist chapel was built in 1838 and there was also a Reformed Methodist chapel.

There was also once a Society of Friends (Quakers) chapel in Tideford, with a cemetery attached.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Tideford, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[2]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Tideford, Cornwall Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
COPC
1852-1907
1866-1938
FS PRs 1852-1905; 1875-1907 (banns) 1866-2006

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


The Genealogical Society of Utah has no microfilm for records of this parish.It is believed that the records are still held in the parish and have not been deposited with Cornwall Record Office.

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish http://www.cornwall-opc.org/Par_new/t_z/tideford.php


Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241259.


Cornwall Online Census Project

Poor Law Unions

St Germans Poor Law Union


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales
  2. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  3. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 04:28.
  • This page has been accessed 988 times.