Tidenham, Gloucestershire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Tidenham, Gloucestershire)

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Tidenham, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Tidenham, Gloucestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Westbury
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Chepstow
Registration District Chepstow
Records begin
Parish registers: 1708
Bishop's Transcripts: 1609
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Forest
Diocese Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Hereford Post 1541- Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office


Parish History

TIDENHAM (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Chepstow, hundred of Westbury, W. division of the county of Gloucester, 2 miles (N. E.) from Chepstow This parish, which is situated at the extremity of a peninsula bounded by the Wye and the Severn, and is divided into the six hamlets of Churchend, Bishton,Sedbury, Beachley, Wibdon, and Stroat.There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Tidenham, Gloucestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
FHSO = FHSOnline - (£)[6]
Tidenham, Gloucestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1708-1754, 1793-1812 1708-1754, 1793-1812 1708-1754 1708-1754 1708-1754, 1793-1812 1708-1754, 1793-1812
FHSO 1800-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288780.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Lewis,Samuel A. , A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 357-360. Date accessed: 05 February 2013.
  2. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1813,' Ancestry, accessed 14 February 2015.
  3. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 14 February 2015.
  4. 'Gloucestershire, England, Marriages, 1754-1938,' Ancestry, accessed 14 February 2015.
  5. 'Gloucestershire, England, Burials, 1813-1988,' Ancestry, accessed 14 February 2015.
  6. 'Coverage for the Gloucestershire Marriages database,' FHS Online, accessed 5 May 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 June 2015, at 20:53.
  • This page has been accessed 1,804 times.