Tift County, GeorgiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States go to Georgia go to Tift County

Guide to Tift County Georgia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Georgia
Online Records
Tift County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Tift County
Location in the state of Georgia
Facts
Founded August 17, 1905
County Seat Tifton
Courthouse
Address Tift County Courthouse]
225 N Tift Avenue
Tifton, GA 31794-4463
Phone: 229.386.7810
Tift County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Tift County Georgia Couthouse.jpg
 

Tift County Courthouse
225 N Tift Avenue
Tifton, GA 31794-4463
Phone: 229.386.7810

Probate Court has marriage and probate records; Clerk Superior Court has divorce, court and land records from 1905[1]
Beginning Dates for Tift County, Georgia Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1919 1905 1919 1910 1905
1905

History

Parent County

1905--Tift County was created 17 August 1905 from Berrien, Irwin and Worth Counties.
County seat: Tifton [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Organization of Tift County, Georgia

The Creek Indians in 1814 and 1818 ceded their lands in the Southern portion of what is now the State of Georgia to the United States government. This extended the boundaries of the State of Georgia to the Chattahoochee River on the West and to what is now the State of Florida in the South.

This land was originally divided into three counties:” Early in the West; Irwin in the middle; and Appling in the East. In 1818, 1819, and 1820 survey parties were sent into these counties. There was a land lottery held in 1820. The lands of Early, Irwin, and Appling then became available to be purchased for a small fee by those eligible. These three counties then began to be settled.

As the population of original Irwin County began to increase other counties were formed. There are currently all or part of seventeen counties within original Irwin. Tift County on Aug. 17, 1905 was chartered from parts of Irwin, Worth, and Berrien Counties. (Worth became a county in 1853 and Berrien in 1856.) All of Tift County is in the 6th Land District of original Irwin except for four land lots West of Ty Ty which are in the 7th Land District. These land lots are number 207, 208, 253, and 254. When Tift County was formed the residents of these four desired to be a part of Tift and their wish was granted.

The land surveyed in 1818, 1819, and 1820 which became Irwin County was organized into land lots. A land lot is 490 acres. When the lottery was held in 1820, those who were fortunate to have their number drawn had the opportunity to purchase the designated land lot for $18. There were sixteen Land Districts in original Irwin County. A full size land district is 20 miles and 660 feet squared. Land lots make up a Land District.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

No reported loss or damage.[3]

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Census

Church Records

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Tift County, Georgia. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

  • Williams, Ida Belle. History of Tift County. Macon, Ga.: Printed by the J.W. Burke Co., c1948. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Maps

Gatift.jpg

Military

Naturalization

Newspapers

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Tift County, Georgia newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tift County, Georgia. Page 161 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 53. At various libraries (WorldCat).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 July 2014, at 21:43.
  • This page has been accessed 6,020 times.