Tilbrook, BedfordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Bedfordshire Gotoarrow.png Bedfordshire Parishes

Guide to Tilbrook, Bedfordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Tilbrook, Bedfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Manshead
County Bedfordshire
Poor Law Union Woburn PLU
Registration District Woburn
Records begin
Parish registers: 1649
Bishop's Transcripts: 1602
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dunstable
Diocese Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Bedford
Location of Archive
Bedfordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

TILBROOK (All Saints), a parish, in the union of St. Neot's, hundred of Stodden, county of Bedford, l½ mile (N. W. by W.) from Kimbolton. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Tilbrook, Bedfordshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

HUNT = Huntingdonshire Burials (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[4]
Tilbrook, Bedfordshire Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
HUNT

1573-1900
IGI 1602-1880 1594-1812
NBI

1573-1900

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Moravial
  • Wesleyans

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is {{{1}}}.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Bedfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

St Neots

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
• England Jurisdictions 1851
• Vision of Britain

Web sites

Tilbrook on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 357-360. Date accessed: 21 November 2013.
  2. 'Huntingdonshire Burials,' FindMyPast (WayBack Machine), accessed 26 April 2014.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Bedfordshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 April 2014.
  4. 'National Burial Index - Huntingdonshire Coverage,' FindMyPast (WayBack Machine), accessed 18 April 2014.
1. ↑ 1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England & Wales, publ. London Edinburgh: 1870; see at: http://www.visionofbritain.org.uk/descriptions/entry_page.jsp?text_id=908440&word=NULL

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 24 September 2014, at 18:25.
  • This page has been accessed 614 times.