Tillamook County, OregonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Oregon Gotoarrow.png Tillamook County

Guide to Tillamook County Oregon genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Oregon
Online Records


Tillamook County, Oregon
Map
Map of Oregon highlighting Tillamook County
Location in the state of Oregon
Map of the U.S. highlighting Oregon
Location of Oregon in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 15, 1853
County Seat Tillamook
Courthouse
Address Tillamook County Courthouse
201 Laurel Avenue
Tillamook, OR 97141
Phone: 503.842.3402
Tillamook County Website


Contents

County Courthouse

County Clerk has marriage records from 1862,
divorce, probate and court records from 1860.[1]

The Land of Cheese, Trees and Ocean Breeze

Quick Facts

Adopt-a-wiki page
Genealogical Council of Oregon logo.jpg This page adopted by:
Genealogical Council of Oregon
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Tillamook County, Oregon


Parent Counties

15 December 1853: Tillamook county was created from Clatsop, Polk and Yamhill Counties.
The name Tillamook comes from the Tillamook (Killamook or Calamoxes) Indians., a Native American tribe living in the area in 19th century. [2]

  • Records Held at the Courthouse

County Records Inventory listing the records held at the Tillamook County Court House as of August/September 2006.

  • Record Loss:


Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Oregon County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Oregon County Boundary Maps" (1843-1975) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Cities

Please do not format these pages unless you have contents to add to them.

Bay City | Garibaldi | Manzanita | Nehalem | Rockaway Beach | Tillamook | Wheeler

Communities

Please do not format these pages unless you have contents to add to them.

Barview | Beaver | Cape Meares | Cloverdale | Hebo | Idiotville | Neskowin | Netarts | Oceanside | Pacific City | Twin Rocks | Woods

Neighboring Counties

Clatsop | Columbia | Lincoln | Polk | Washington | Yamhill

Trivia Tidbits

Information about localities, too small or too brief to describe in separate pages. Exception to this are Post Offices. > Trivia Tidbits

Resources

Biography

Cemeteries

Tillamook County, Oregon cemetery records

Census

Census records for Tillamook County, Oregon, 1854, 1857-1858

The 1860 census records of Tillamook County, Oregon

Tillamook County, Oregon census, 1860-1870

Church History and Records

Court Records

Gazetteers

History

Land and Property

Maps

Ortillamook.jpg

Military History and Records

List of soldier's graves in Tillamook County, Oregon : arranged according to the different cemeteries

Naturalization and Citizenship

Declarations of intentions, 1888-1892, 1907-1954 (Tillamook County, Oregon)

Naturalization petitions, 1909-1953; card index, 1871-1954 (Tillamook County, Oregon)

Newspapers

[Https://sites.google.com/site/onlinenewspapersite/Home/usa/or Oregon Online Historical Newspapers] - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.

Probate Records

Tillamook County probate case files, 1859-1920

Record of wills, guardianships, and probate journals (Tillamook County, Oregon)

Rivers and Waterways

Details about the rivers and waterways where farms and settlements are often found along them. >> Rivers and Waterways

Taxation

[Tax assessment books and sherriff's tax rolls for Tillamook County, Oregon]

Vital Records

The Family History Library has copies of some records such as:

Petitions for delayed birth (Tillamook County, Oregon)

Tillamook County, Oregon marriages, 1862-1910

Oregon, Tillamook County, marriage records, 1855-1958

Divorce case files (Tillamook County, Oregon), 1875-1926

Tillamook County certificate of deaths 1903-1943, record of deaths 1907-1916

Record of deaths, 1907-1916, (Tillamook County, Oregon)

See also How to order Oregon Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Oregon Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.

Societies, Libraries and Museums

See also a List of Oregon Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Web Sites

Tillamook County Oregon Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tillamook County, Oregon page 574, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. WorldCat 50140092FHL Collection Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002)

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 00:28.
  • This page has been accessed 4,186 times.