Tilney St Lawrence, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Tilney St Lawrence, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Tilney St Lawrence, Norfolk
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Freebridge-Marsh-Land
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Wisbech PLU
Registration District Wisbeach
Records begin
Parish registers: 1618; For more records see Tilney All Saints
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lynn
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

TILNEY (St. Lawrence), a parish, in the union of Wisbech, hundred of Freebridge-Marshland, W. division of Norfolk, 5½ miles (S. W. by W.) from Lynn. There are places of worship for Calvinists and Primitive Methodists. [1]

Tilney St Lawrence is a former chapelry to Tilney All Saints, Norfolk Ancient parish and now an ecclesiastical parish in the Diocese of Norwich.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration District:

  • Wisbech

Church records

Tilney St Lawrence, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[3]
NTA = Norfolk Transcription Archive - free[4]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[5]
Tilney St Lawrence, Norfolk Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1600-1880
1600-1812
1600-1812
JOIN
1707-1812

NTA 1675-1902
1559-1902
1571-1943
TIN 1813-1880


This parish's registers do not appear on FamilySearch as no microfilm for the parish is held at the Family History Library.
A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue identifies the following Archdeacon's transcripts:

Content Film
Baptisms and burials 1600-1608, 1623-1636, 1671-1812 Marriages 1600-1608, 1623-1636, 1679-1812 FHL BRITISH Film 1526744 Item 6

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438858.

Poor Law Unions

Wisbech http://www.workhouses.org.uk/index.html?Wisbech/Wisbech.shtml

Norfolk Poor Law Unions


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 360-362. Date accessed: 29 July 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  3. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 February 2014.
  4. Norfolk Transcription Archive, accessed 14 April 2014.
  5. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 13 November 2014, at 17:39.
  • This page has been accessed 1,220 times.