Tilston, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Tilston

Guide to Tilston, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Mary's Church, Tilston Cheshire.jpg

Contents

Parish History

TILSTON (St. Mary), is a parish, in the union of Great Boughton, Higher division of the hundred of Broxton, South division of the county of Chester; containing, with the townships of Carden, Grafton, Hortonby-Malpas, and Stretton, it is 3 miles (N. W. by N.) from Malpas.[1]

Tilston St Mary is an ancient parish in the ancient Broxton Hundred which includes the hamlets of Hob Hill and Lowcross Hill and lies three miles northwest of Malpas and twelve miles from Chester.

The ancient church of St. Mary's in the township, despite having been extensively restored in the late 19th century, largely dates from 1659 but there was a church on the site at least as early as the time of King Henry III in the mid 13th century.

Tilston was the site of a Roman town, known as Bovium, which was on the Roman road between Chester and Wroxeter.

In 1066 after the Battle of Hastings the area of present-day Tilston was taken from the Anglo-Saxons. Hugh Lupus, the nephew of King William I was given these lands. Hugh then gave parts of this land to his supporters. The village of Tilston was given to a knight named Eynion who was the called Eynion de Tilston. In the 12th century, Wales was not part of the Kingdom of England and the Welsh people constantly raided England. 

Tilston is a village and a civil parish in the unitary authority of Cheshire West and Chester and the ceremonial county of Cheshire, England.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241232.

Church records

Tilston St Mary parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

CPR = Cheshire Parish Register Project - free[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[3]
Tilston St Mary Parish (1558) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
CPR 1558-1871
1559-1871
1558-1871
FS PR's 1558-1909
  NONE
1559-1897
  NONE
1558-1909
  NONE
FS BT'S 1621-1839
  NONE
1605-1840
  NONE
1605-1839
  NONE
JOIN
1559-1837

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Tilston, St. Mary (C of E). An ancient parish church, serving the townships of Carden, Grafton, Horton, Stretton (near Malpas) and Tilston. Registers of Baptisms 1558–1937, Marriages 1559–1998 and Burials 1558–1924 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office. Parish registers for Tilston, 1558-1978 Microfilm copy of original record in the Cheshire Record Office, Chester, England. The parish church is known as St. Mary's.Cheshire Record Office no.: P18/1/1-2, 2/1-3, 3/1-2, 4/1, 5/1-2; P18/6328.

Parish Register Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1558-1937. Marriages, 1558-1837. Marriage banns, 1754-1813, 1823-1897. Burials, 1558-1924. BRITISH 2105377 Items 4 - 13
Marriages, 1917-1978. VAULT BRITISH 2356822 Item 7

Bishop's transcripts for Tilston, 1585-1839 Microfilm of manuscripts in the Cheshire Record Office, Chester, England.
Records are not in strict chronological order. Some years are missing.

Bishop's transcripts Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1585-1586, 1605, 1610, 1613, 1618, 1621-1625, 1628-1631, 1635, 1665-1697, 1700-1800. BRITISH 1751855 Item 2
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1801-1839. BRITISH 1751856 Item 1

Transcripts of this parish are available online at Cheshire Parish Register project

Non-Conformist Churches

  • Tilston, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan)
  • Tilston, Methodist Chapel (Primitive)

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Great Boughton (1837–69)
  • Chester (1870–1937)
  • West Cheshire (1937–74)
  • Chester and Ellesmere Port (1974–98)
  • Cheshire West (post 1998) Registration events may be searched online at Cheshire BMD

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 12 April 2013
  2. 'CPR Project Progress (As on 17 January 2014),' Cheshire Parish Register Project, accessed 1 February 2014.
  3. Cheshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 16 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:47.
  • This page has been accessed 2,511 times.