Tilstone Fearnall, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes

Guide to Tilstone Fearnall, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Tilstone Fearnall, Cheshire
Tilsone Fearnall St Jude .jpg
Tilsone Fearnall St Jude
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Eddisbury
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Nantwich PLU
Registration District Nantwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1838
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Nantwich
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

TILSTON-FEARNALL, is a township and a chapelry in Bunbury parish, Cheshire. The township lies 1 mile N E of Beeston railway station, and 2 SSE of Tarporley. The chapelry was constituted in 1837. The post town is, Tarporley. The church was built in 1836.[1]

Tilstone Fearnall St Jude is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Cheshire, created in 1837 from chapelry in  Bunbury, Cheshire Ancient Parish.

Tilstone Fearnall was a township in Bunbury Parish, Eddisbury Hundred , which became a civil parish in 1866 and
Included the hamlets of Stages Platt and Tilstone Bank.

Tilstone Fearnall is a civil parish in the Borough of Cheshire West and Chester and ceremonial county of Cheshire in England.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241236.

Church records

Tilstone Fearnall St Jude parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Tilstone Fearnall St Jude Parish (1838) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1848-1901 (gaps)


FS PR's 1848-1901
  NONE
1901-1934
  NONE
1848-1901
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non Conformist Churches

None

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

Nantwich (1837–92)
Chester (1892–1937)
West Cheshire (1937–74)
Chester and Ellesmere Port (1974–98)
Cheshire West (post 1998)

Poor Law Unions

Nantwich Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.See also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Tilstone Fearnall on GENUKI

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 12 April 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 November 2014, at 20:48.
  • This page has been accessed 929 times.