Tippah County, MississippiEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Tippah County Mississippi genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png  Mississippi Gotoarrow.png  Tippah County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Mississippi
Online Records


Tippah County, Mississippi
Map
Map of Mississippi highlighting Tippah  County
Location in the state of Mississippi
Map of the U.S. highlighting Mississippi
Location of Mississippi in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 9 February, 1836
County Seat Ripley
Courthouse
Address Tippah County Courthouse]
PO Box 99;
Ripley, MS 38663
Phone: 662.837.7374
Tippah County Courthouse]

Contents

County Courthouse

Tippah County Courthouse
PO Box 99;
Ripley, MS 38663
Phone: 662.837.7374

Clerk Chancery Court or Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1856. [1]


Beginning Dates for Tippah County, Mississippi Government Records
[[<span class=|Tippah County, Mississippi#Vital_Records">Birth]] [[<span class=|Tippah County, Mississippi#Vital_Records">Marriage]] [[<span class=|Tippah County, Mississippi#Vital_Records">Death]] [[<span class=|Tippah County, Mississippi#Census">Census]] [[<span class=|Tippah County, Mississippi#Land_and_Property">Land]] [[<span class=|Tippah County, Mississippi#Probate_Records">Probate]]

1856



1856

NOTE: A wiki article describing an online colleciton is found at: Mississippi Tippah County Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

History

Parent County

1836--Tippah County was created 9 February 1836 from the Chickasaw Cession.
County seat: Ripley [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Mississippi county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Mississippi County Boundary Maps" (1785-1918) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Mississippi counties see: Mississippi Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Tippah County, Mississippi census records online, see: Mississippi Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Mississippi denominations, view the Mississippi Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Mississippi Land and Property for additional information about early Mississippi land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Tippah County, Mississippi. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Mississippi Local Histories.


A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:

Mississippi, Tippah County Family Histories, 1810-1941 (FamilySearch Historical Records)


Maps

Military

Civil War
  • Men from Tippah County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Tippah County.
- 10th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry (New)
Company K - Beauregard Relief
- 2nd Regiment, Mississippi Partisans [Also known as 2nd Partisan Rangers Cavalry/Ballentine’s]
Company E - McDowell’s Company
- 2nd Regiment, Mississippi State Cavalry
Company A - Citizen Guards
Company K - Pettus Rangers
- 2nd Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
Company B – O’Connor Rifles
Company D – Joe Matthews
Company F – Magnolia Rifles
Company L – Liberty Guards
- 3rd Battalion, Mississippi Infantry
Company F - Tippah Highlanders
- 3rd Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
Company G - Daniel’s Company
- 7th Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
Company A - Forrest Cavalry, aka Ford’s Company
Company B - Hovis’ Company
Company C - Green’s Company
Company D - Holcomb’s Company
Company E - Buncomb’s Fighting Cocks, aka Rogers’ Company
Company F - Duncan’s Company
Company G - Stancill’s Company, aka Garrett’s Company, and aka White’s Company
Company H - Wheeler’s Company, aka Polk’s/Park’s Company
Company I - McKenzie’s Company, aka Young’s Company
Company L - Garrett’s Company
- 32nd Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
Company E - Hatchie Tigers

Naturalization

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Tippah County, Mississippi newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Mississippi Tippah County Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Taxation

Mississippi tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Mississippi Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. Mississippi law did not require keeping birth or death records until 1912. Births and deaths are kept by the Mississippi Bureau of Vital Statistics. Marriage records are kept by the county. See also How to order Mississippi Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Mississippi Vital Records for more information on getting Mississippi records.

Birth
Marriage

A wiki article describing an online collectons is found at:

Mississippi, Tippah County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Mississippi Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tippah County, Mississippi page 383, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f2/Igimississippip.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:21.
  • This page has been accessed 6,392 times.