Tipton County, IndianaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Indiana
Tipton County
Guide to Tipton County Indiana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Tipton County, Indiana | |||||||
| Map | |||||||
![]() Location of Indiana in the U.S. | |||||||
| Facts | |||||||
| Founded | January 15, 1844 | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Tipton | ||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||
| Address | Tipton County Courthouse 101 E Jefferson Tipton, IN 46072 Phone: 765.675.2795 Tipton County Website | ||||||
| |||||||
Historical Facts
- Marvin W. Pershing , Tipton County, Indiana history, 1914 Facsim. of History of Tipton County, Indiana: her people, industries and institutions --Indianapolis, Indiana: B. F. Bowen Co., 1914,( Kokomo, Indiana:Selby Publishing Printing, c1985) 977.255 H2p v.1 and v.2 FHL Collection Other Library
- Blanchard, Charles. 2010. Counties of Howard and Tipton, Indiana: historical and biographical. (Salem, Mass: Higginson Book Co.)977.2 H2bL FHL US/CAN BookFHL Collectionother libraries FamilySearch Books OnlineINTERNET ARCHIVE
- History of Tipton County, Indiana - Linkpendium
Populated Places
Boundary Changes
Neighboring Counties
Parent County
1844--Tipton County was created 15 January 1844from Hamilton, Cass and Miami Counties.
County seat: Tipton [1]
Record Loss
Tipton County, Indiana Resources
Cemeteries
- A cemetery index of Tipton County can be found at http://tiptongenealogy.blogspot.com/.The index was compiled from 1978-1980, so any burials after that are not listed.
Census Records
Bible Records
Biographies
Business
Census Records
For tips on accessing Tipton County, Indiana census records online, see: Indiana Census.
- Index to Defective, Dependent & Delinquent Census for Tipton County, Indiana (1880) (members only database, Indiana Genealogical Society)
Church Records
Court Records
Directories
- Directory of Businesses in Tipton County, Indiana (1868) (members only database, Indiana Genealogical Society)
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic and religious Groups
Gazetteers
Genealogies
History
Local Histories
- Pershing, M. W. History of Tipton County, Indiana, 1914. ( [Kokomo, Ind.] (3405 Zartman Rd., Kokomo 46902): Selby Pub.Print, 1985.), 977.255 H2pFHL Collectionother librariesGoogle books
- Biographical and Genealogical History of Cass, Miami, Howard and Tipton Counties, Indiana. (La Crosse WI: Brookhaven Press, 2003.)other library Hathi Trust Digital Library
Land and Property
Maps
- Maps and Gazetteers - Linkpendium
Migration
Military Records
- See Military Records and Histories - Linkpendium
War of 1812
Civil War
Civil War service men from Tipton County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Tipton County.
- 1st Regiment, Indiana Heavy Artillery, Company L
- 8th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Companies G, L, and M
- 11th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Reorganized Company F
- 26th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company C
- 47th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company K
- 75th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company B
- 101st Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company C
- 132nd Regiment, Indiana Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company F
- 140th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company G
- 148th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company F
- 153rd Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company K
- A list of Civil War soldiers buried in Tipton County can be found at http://www.tiptonpl.lib.in.us/pages/cwburied.pdf
Civil War Book
- "Military," Chapter 17 in Pershing, M. W. History of Tipton County, Indiana, 1914. ([Kokomo, Ind.] (3405 Zartman Rd., Kokomo 46902): Selby Pub.Print, 1985.),(page 141-165),977.255 H2p FHL Collectionother libraries
World War I
World War II
Naturalization and Citizenship
Newspapers
- The Tipton Daily Tribune is available online at tiptonpl.newspaperarchive.comIt is has all available issues through 1971.
Obituaries
Occupations
Periodicals
Pictures
- A collection of over 400 images of Tipton County can be found at http://www.flickr.com/photos/tiptongenealogy.The originals are archived at the Tipton County Public Library.
Probate Records
Public Records
Repositories
Archives
Courthouse
Tipton County Courthouses
101 E Jefferson
Tipton, IN 46072
Phone:1-765-675-2795
County Clerk has marriage records from 1844, divorce, probate, and court house records from 1850. <ref>"Handybook for Genealogists:United States of American". 10th ed. (Draper, Utah:Everton Pub., 2002) Tipton County, Indiana 217 At various libraries(WorldCat) FHL Book 973D27e2002</ref>
Family History Centers
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
Libraries
Tipton County Public Library contains an extensive local genealogy collection and will scan and email obituaries for free. fckLR*Tipton County Historical Society
Museums
Societies
School Records
- Directory of Teachers for Tipton County (1936) ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
- Alumni of Tipton High School (1876-1907) ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
Taxation
Vital Records
- A full index of Cemetery, Marriage, and Obituary records can be found online at the Tipton County Public Library webpage.
- Indiana State Digital Archives for Death, E-Publication, Institution, Military, Misc Historical, Naturalization Records can be searched by person name (accessed 26 May 2011)
Birth Records
Marriages Records
- A marriage index of Tipton County can be found at http://tiptongenealogy.blogspot.com/. The index contains marriages from 1844 - 1930.
- Indiana Marriages, 1802-1892 - Ancestry.con $
- Indiana Marriages, 1780-1992-FamilySearch
- Indiana Marriage, 1811-1959-FamilySearch
Death Records
- Indiana, Death Index, 1882-1920 - FamilySearch
Voting Registration
Tipton County, Indiana Web Sites
USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.Family History Library Catalog
Tipton County, Indiana Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)Tipton County Public Library Genealogy
Digitized Newspapers, Cemeteries, Marriages, Obituaries, and Pictures
Tipton County, Indiana References
- ↑ name="Handybook"&amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;gt;The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 16 April 2013, at 22:34.
- This page has been accessed 2,125 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
