Tipton St Martin, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Tipton St Martin, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Tipton St Martin, Staffordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Offlow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Dudley PLU
Registration District Dudley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1573
Bishop's Transcripts: 1672
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Handsworth
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Prebend of Prees or Pipe Minor
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Tipton St Martin is an Ancient Parish in the county of Staffordshire.  Other places in the parish include: Dudley Port, Great Bridge, Greatbridge, Horseley Heath, Princes End, and Toll End.

TIPTON (St. Martin), a parish, in the union of Dudley, S. division of the hundred of Offlow and of the county of Stafford, 1½ mile (N. E.) from Dudley, sometimescalled Tibbington.   There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, Primitive Methodists, Methodists of the New Connexion, and Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See West Midlands BMD and Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Tipton St Martin parish registers 1578-1797 were originally Tipton St John but were transferred when St Martin became the Parish church as replacement for St John's. When this church closed it was united with  Tipton St Paul, Staffordshire

Tipton St Martin parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS = FamilySearch - free[4]
FSBOOK = FamilySearch Books - free
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[6]
TIPTON ST MARTIN PARISH (1573) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI

1824-1843, 1847-1854


FREG 1736-1901
1736-1824, 1837-1839
1736-1959
FS 1573-1827
1574-1837


FSBOOK 1573-1736
1573-1736
1573-1736
JOIN

1574-1736


NBI



1574-1920

Some of these records have been transcribed and are available for purchase through the The Staffordshire Parish Register Society and also at The Family History Library in Salt Lake City with catalog reference.

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1573-1962 Mar 1573-1983 Bur 1573-1989
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1672-1837 Mar 1672-1837 Bur 1672-1837

Tipton St John was well as being the original dedicatory name for this ancient parish 1578-1797 was formed as an ecclesiastical parish in 1854 for part of this Ancient Parish 

Tipton St John (Princes End) parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

TIPTON ST JOHN (PRINCES END) PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1854-1865


1855-1865

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1854-1978  Mar 1854-1979 Bur 1855-1868
Lichfield Record Office has no holdings of Bishop's Transcripts

Non-Conformist Churches

Bloomfield Wesleyan Methodist Chapel registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

  BLOOMFIELD WESLEYAN METHODIST CHAPEL (1823) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1823-1837, 1846-1900






Canal St. Methodist New Connexion Chapel registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

CANAL ST. METHODIST NEW CONNEXION CHAPEL(1868) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1868-1949






Dudley Port Primitive Methodist Chapel This Chapel was known as Tividale St. Methodist Chapel from 1870 onwards.Registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

 DUDLEY PORT PRIMITIVE METHODIST CHAPEL(1846) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1846-1870






Dudley Port Wesleyan Methodist Chapel registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

  DUDLEY PORT WESLEYAN METHODIST CHAPEL (1847) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1847-1900






Gospel Oak Wesleyan Methodist Chapel registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

  GOSPEL OAK WESLEYAN METHODIST CHAPEL(1841) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1841-1952






Great Bridge New Connexion Chapel registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

 GREAT BRIDGE NEW CONNEXION CHAPEL(1868) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1868-1913






Great Bridge Wesleyan Methodist Chapel registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

 GREAT BRIDGE WESLEYAN METHODIST CHAPEL(1841) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1841-1854

1864-1898




Park Lane Wesleyan Chapel registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

 PARK LANE WESLEYAN CHAPEL (1837) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1837-1846






Summerhill Primitive Methodist Chapel registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

 SUMMERHILL PRIMITIVE METHODIST CHAPEL(1865) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1865-1931






Tipton Green Wesleyan Methodist Chapel registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

  TIPTON GREEN WESLEYAN METHODIST CHAPEL (1750) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1809-1837






Tividale Street Methodist Chapel (Dudley Port) This Chapel was previously known as Dudley Port Primitive Methodist Chapel. Registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

  TIVIDALE STREET METHODIST CHAPEL (DUDLEY PORT)(1870) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1870-1972






Cemetery Records

Alexandra Road Cemetery, Tipton

FREG has transcribed the following Burial Registers1909-1907, 1917-1938, 1943-1960

Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474616.

Poor Law Unions

Dudley Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 362-366. Date accessed: 06 November 2012.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 13 September 2013.
  3. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 16 August 2014.
  4. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (N-Z), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 23 September 2013.
  5. Staffordshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 13 September 2013.
  6. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.
  7. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 August 2014, at 18:54.
  • This page has been accessed 3,215 times.