Tipton St Paul, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png StaffordshireGotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Tipton St Paul, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Tipton St Paul, Staffordshire
Tipton St Martins and St Pauls Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Offlow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Dudley PLU
Registration District Dudley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1839
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Handsworth
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Prebend of Prees or Pipe Minor
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Tipton St Paul is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Staffordshire, created in 1842 from Tipton St Martin, Staffordshire Ancient Parish . [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See West Midlands BMD and Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Tipton St Paul was formed in 1842 from part of Tipton St Martin, Staffordshire Ancient parish

Tipton St Paul parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
TIPTON ST PAUL PARISH (1839) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI

1853-1885


FREG
1839-1852





Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1839-1951  Mar 1853-1965 Bur no burial ground
Lichfield Record Office has no  holdings of Bishop's Transcripts


Tipton St Matthew was formed on 11th February 1881 from part of St Paul's parish. The church, in Dudley Road, was erected in 1876.

Tipton St Matthew parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

TIPTON ST MATTHEW PARISH (1881) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1881-1924


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474616.

Poor Law Unions

Dudley Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 August 2014, at 17:51.
  • This page has been accessed 1,519 times.