Titchwell, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Titchwell, Norfolk
Titchwell St Mary.JPG
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Smithdon
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Docking PLU
Registration District Docking
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1698
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Heacham
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

TITCHWELL (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Docking, hundred of Smithdon, W. division of Norfolk, ½ a mile (W.) from Brancaster. Here is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1] Titchwell St Mary is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Norwich.

The parish church, dedicated to St. Mary, is one of the 124 surviving round-tower churches in Norfolk.

Titchwell is a village and civil parish in the English county of Norfolk. It is situated on the north Norfolk coast some 2 km (1.2 mi) west of the village of Brancaster, 9 km (5.6 mi) north-east of the seaside resort of Hunstanton, 30 km (19 mi) north of the town of King's Lynn and 70 km (43 mi) north-west of the city of Norwich.

For the purposes of local government, the parish falls within the district of King's Lynn and West Norfolk

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration District:

  • Docking

Church records

Titchwell, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
Titchwell, Norfolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1724-1812
1724-1812
1725-1812


This parish does not appear at FamilySearch Historical Records. as no microfilm for the parish is held
A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue indicates that the following Archdeacon's transcripts are on film but these have not yet been converted to digital images for publication

Content
Film
Baptisms 1725-1812 Marriages 1725-1810 Burials 1725-1811
FHL BRITISH Film
1526810 Item 11

England Norfolk Church of England Parish Registers and Bishops’ Transcripts (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438865.



Poor Law Unions

Docking Poor Law Union, Norfolk

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 362-366. Date accessed: 29 July 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:20.
  • This page has been accessed 759 times.