Tixall, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Tixall, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Tixall, Staffordshire
Tixall St John the Baptist Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Pirehill
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Stafford PLU
Registration District Stafford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1707
Bishop's Transcripts: 1663
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stafford
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

TIXALL (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the S. division of the hundred of Pirehill, union, and N. division of the county, of Stafford, 5 miles (W. by N.) from Rugeley.[1]

A Topographical and Historical Description of the Parish of Tixall in the County of Stafford (1817) has been digitised by Internet Archive - free.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Tixall St John the Baptist parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS = FamilySearch - free[3]
TIXALL PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1813-2002
1813-1836

FS 1663-1809, 1813-1865
1663-1809, 1813-1851

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1663-2002 Mar 1633-1836 Bur 1663-1812
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1663-1865 Mar 1663-1848 Bur 1663-1864 missing bap/bur 1853-1855


Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474623.

Poor Law Unions

Stafford Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 366-369. Date accessed: 12 November 2012.
  2. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 16 September 2013.
  3. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (N-Z), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 23 September 2013.
  4. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 05:01.
  • This page has been accessed 834 times.