Todmorden, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Lancashire go to Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Todmorden, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Todmorden, Lancashire
Todmorden St Mary contributor SMJ.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Morley; Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Todmorden PLU
Registration District Todmorden
Records begin
Parish registers: 1666
Bishop's Transcripts: 1625
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rochdale
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Chapelry History

TODMORDEN St Mary, a parochial chapelry, and the head of a union; containing a greater portion of Todmorden Township and the townships of Langfield and Stansfield, partly in the parish of Halifax, W. riding of York; and comprising all of the hamlet of Walsden, in the parish of Rochdale, hundred of Salford, S. division of the county of Lancaster; 20 miles northeast from Manchester. The chapel, was erected by 1625, and had a spacious cemetery.

Another chapel dedicated as Todmorden Christ Church, which is now the parochial chapel, was erected in 1832.[1]

Contents

Part of this parish is in Yorkshire. See also Todmorden, Yorkshire.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Todmorden chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Rochdale St Chad to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
GLUK = GenealogyLinksUK
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
TODWLS = Todmorden and Walsden Website


TODMORDEN ST MARY Chapelry (1624) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1624-1824 1669-1831 1744-1825
LOPC 1628-1633; 1670-1740 1669-1812 1628-1633;1670-1741
AC 1670-1812 1670-1812 1670-1812
GLUK 1781-1857 (part.) 1822-1838;1844-1874 (part.) 1666-1904 (part.)
TODWLS 1680-1901 (part.) 1680-1901 (part.) 1680-1901 (part.)
TODMORDEN CHRIST CHURCH CHAPELRY (1834) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC None None None
GLUK None 1822-1838;1844-1874 None

ROCHDALE ST CHAD PARISH (1582) Indexes (ancient parish containing TODMORDEN Chapelry)

 

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1582-1894 1582-1898  None
LOPC 1642-1835 1582-1898 1582-1837;1862-1896
LBMD None 1837-1940 None
AC  1582-1616 1701-1801 1582-1616


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Todmorden and comprising the whole ancient parish of Rochdale St Chad to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the ROCHDALE ST CHAD PARISH page.


Bishop's transcripts for St. Mary's Church, Todmorden, 1625-1832 Microreproduction of original manuscripts housed at the Lancashire Record Office, Preston. Bishop's transcripts of the chapelry of Todmorden (St. Mary), in the parish of Rochdale, Lancashire. Lancashire Record Office: DRM/2/306-307b

Contents
Film
Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1625-1632; 1671-1690; and 1700-1813.
FHL BRITISH Film
1545948 Items 3 - 5
Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1814-1832.
FHL BRITISH Film
1545949 Items 1 - 2


Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/Todmorden/index.html for transcripts of the registers of the parish

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306935.

Genealogy

Travis, John:  Sutcliffe of Todmorden. History and family tree of John Sutcliffe and Grace Thwaite originally from Barnoldswick, Lancashire/Yorkshire border -  with the following surnames: Turner, Bottomley, Crabtree, Overend, Hartley, Dugdale, Shackleton, Earnshaw, Marshall, Ryder, Uttley, Ashworth, Ayrton, Jackson, Dawson, Crowther, French, Barnes, Walley, Challenger, Law Ogden, Woodhead, Hole, Nash dating from 1744-1975 to be found in Lancashire Family History and Heraldry Soc. Magazine vol.6. no.4, pages17-20. FHL Ref 942.72 B2r

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites


http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=53035 British History Online Todmorden & Walsden

References

  1. A Topographical Dictionary of England by Samuel Lewis (1848), pp. 369-372. Date accessed: 19 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 15:40.
  • This page has been accessed 2,340 times.