Todwick, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.pngYorkshire Parishes, S-Y Gotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire ParishesGotoarrow.png Todwick

Todwick, Yorkshire
Todwick St Peter & St Paul Rotherham Yorkshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Strafforth and Tickhill
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Worksop PLU
Registration District Worksop
Records begin
Parish registers: 1577
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Doncaster
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Todwick St Peter and St Paul is an Ancient Parish in the Rotherham district of South Yorkshire.

The Parish Church of St Peter and St Paul Lindley's Croft Rotherham has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

TODWICK (St. Peter and St. Paul), a parish, in the union of Worksop, S. division of the wapentake of Strafforth and Tickhill, W. riding of York, 10miles (E. by S.) from Sheffield.[1]

See Todwick Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD. For history of civil registration in this area see Worksop Registration District

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from parish registers of Todwick exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Archive.org
FS = FamilySearch.org
ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk
TODWICK PARISH (1718) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1718-1910

1718-1898

None

JOIN None

1577-1835

None

AC None

None

None


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding **Chapelry** and comprising the whole ancient parish of Todwick to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Todwick page.

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Todwick

Non Conformist Churches

Census records

See Yorkshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Worksop Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

England Jurisdictions 1851

Vision of Britain

Websites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 369-372. Date accessed: 16 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:13.
  • This page has been accessed 1,025 times.