Tonbridge St Peter and St Paul, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Tonbridge, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Tonbridge St Peter and St Paul, Kent
Tonbridge St Peter& Paul Kent.jpg
Tonbridge St Peter& Paul Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Rotherfield; Tonbridge Lowey; Washlingstone
County Kent
Poor Law Union Tonbridge PLU
Registration District Tunbridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1547
Bishop's Transcripts: 1716
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Malling
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester; Post-1844 - Prerogative Court of the Archbishop of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Tonbridge is a town on the River Medway in the Tonbridge and Malling district of the county of Kent. Tonbridge Wikipedia

Tonbridge St Peter and St Paul is the Anglican mother parish church of the Ancient and extensive parish of Tonbridge which included  subsequent development of Southborough, Hildenborough and the town of Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent and therefore a a large number of Anglican parishes were formed from within the parish boundary. Shipbourne, Kent was formed as a chapelry of the parish.

A map of the modern parish boundary which enables location of surrounding Anglican churches is available at A church near you

The church of St Peter and St Paul Church Street Tonbridge has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

See kent Archeological Society and Edward Hasted 'The lowy of Tunbridge: Tunbridge', The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 5 (1798), pp. 196-255. Date accessed: 21 November 2013. at British History Online Hasted also describes surrounding parishes in these pages.

Tonbridge St Peter and St Paul

see History of Tonbridge Churches and Tonbridge North West Kent Family History Society for church development history in the district.

See also Tonbridge, Kent

Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent

Southborough St Peter, Kent

Hildenborough, Kent

Resources

Civil Registration

See Tonbridge Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Tonbridge St Peter and St Paul, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[1]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[4]
Tonbridge St Peter and St Paul, Kent Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1812-1871 (gaps)
1813-1837

FS BTs 1838-1871
IGI 1553-1812 1558-1837
PALL
1790-1837

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Tonbridge St Stephen parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Tonbridge St Stephen Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1864-1865, 1899


FS BTs 1864-1899 1864-1899

Land Tax

Images for:

Borough of Tonbridge 1780-1831 These microfilmed images are marked as in poor condition, with creasing and refer to the town of Tonbridge. There are repeated exposures of the same page in order that the microfilm density could be adjusted to offer the best image available. Handling the originals they are indeed in poor condition and were filmed as part of conservation of the record.

Borough of Tonbridge and Hadlow 1780-1832 relate to the Hadlow area of the parish are available at FamilySearch Records in separate series, see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Images for Bidborough, Leigh and Tonbridge are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832

Census records

Census returns for Tonbridge 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Tonbridge Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

TONBRIDGE, or TUNBRIDGE (St. Peter and St. Paul), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the lowey of Tonbridge, lathe of Aylesford, W. division of Kent, 14 miles (W. S. W.) from Maidstone, and 30 (S. E.) from London. [5]



Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  2. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013. Ambiguously described as 'Tonbridge,' with no saint's dedication.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 13 November 2013.
  4. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  5. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 372-377. Date accessed: 22 May 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 December 2014, at 18:29.
  • This page has been accessed 2,938 times.