Tonge cum Alkrington, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Tonge cum Alkrington, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Tonge cum Alkrington, Lancashire
St Peter RC St Michael C of E Tonge near Middleton.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Oldham PLU
Registration District Oldham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1839
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bury
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

Tonge cum Alkrington St Michael was created a district chapelry in 1842 from, and lying within the boundaries of Prestwich St Mary Ancient Parish.

Other places in the parish include: Alkrington.

TONGE, a township, in the parish of Prestwichcum-Oldham, union of Oldham, hundred of Salford,S. division of Lancashire, 5½ miles (N. N. E.) from Manchester. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Tonge cum Alkrington chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Prestwich to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = findmypast (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
TONGE-CUM-ALKRINGTON ST MICHAEL Chapelry (1840) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1839-1914 1840-1930 1839-1925
FS 1853-1893 None None
LOPC None None None
LBMD None 1840-1925 None
PRESTWICH ST MARY PARISH (1600) Indexes (ancient parish containing TONGE CUM ALKRINGTON Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1603-1910 1600-1935 1712-1921
LOPC 1603-1936 1603-1895 1603-1921
LBMD 1837-1902 1837-1925 1837-1877
FMP None 1603-1712 None
AC 1603-1711 1603-1711 1603-1711


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Tonge cum Alkrington and comprising the whole ancient parish of Prestwich to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the PRESTWICH PARISH page.


Parish registers for St. Michael's Church, Tonge-cum-Alkrington, 1839-1947 Microfilm copy of originals formerly held at the Manchester Central Library, Manchester, England.
Tonge is a township and a chapelry in Prestwich parish. The chapelry includes Alkrington township.
Manchester Central Library call nos.: L148/1/1/1-7, L148/2/1-4, L148/1/3/1-3.

Content
Film
Baptisms, 1839-March 1906.
FHL BRITISH Film
2113212
Baptisms, March 1906-1923. Marriages, 1840-1922.
FHL BRITISH Film
2113213
Marriages, June 1922-1943.
FHL BRITISH Film
2356369 Items 5 - 6
Burials, 1839-1925.
FHL BRITISH Film
2113214
Banns, 1917-1947.
FHL BRITISH Film
2356368


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306932.


Poor Law Unions

Oldham Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 372-377. Date accessed: 19 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:05.
  • This page has been accessed 1,973 times.